Dominate spell on craft creatures

By Rianane, in Talisman Rules Questions

The Dominate spell reads: "Cast when you are about to engage an Enemy in battle. You may enslave on Enemy you are about to encounter instead of attacking it. The enslaved Enemy becomes you Follower and adds it Strength to yours in your next battle, after which it retreats to the discard pile."

A character encountered a Craft creature. Our question was whether the Dominate spell would work on a craft creature (our guess, yes) and the next question was would that creature aid in the next Psychic Combat (our guess, no).

FWIW, we decided on a house rule that allowed the creature to be used during the next Psychic Combat.

Since it says battle and not combat, it only works on Str Enemies.

Ah, how silly of me to miss the distinction between Battle and Combat. And we've probably played 8 or 10 games now.

So am I correct in understanding that Battle = Strength fights, Psychic Combat = Craft fights, and Combat refers to either or both (depending on context)?

Rianane said:

So am I correct in understanding that Battle = Strength fights, Psychic Combat = Craft fights, and Combat refers to either or both (depending on context)?

Yes, it's not ideal, but still better than what it used to be, combat and psychic combat. At least battle is its own word in that context.