Nova Cannon Criticals

By Brolthemighty, in Rogue Trader Rules Questions

Alright, so my question is a simple and forthright one....that I just can't find the answer for. So, on pg. 16 of BFK, it states that any damage dice that roll a 10 cause one Critical Hit. This is fairly simple to interpret, yes.

However, when you go do the table to look at the stats for Nova Cannons......none of them do d10's just 2d5. Now, normally I'd say, okay, so essentially to crit you have to roll two fives (giving you 10) but then further on pg. 16 is states "As noted above, damage dice rolling natural 10's causes Critical Hits."

So my question, how can you crit with a Nova Cannon at all, if you're doing 2d5, and require natural 10's to crit?

Roll a d10 for each d5. Divide and round up to get the equivalent of a d5. Any 10's rolled (which then turn into a 5) are where the crits come from. 9's also round to 5 but aren't 10's so they don't.

That is how we would do it at least ;)

That would make sense, since the whole system is supposed to be d10 friendly.

Coldshard has it exactly right. It's rather interesting that a Nova Cannon can do maximum damage without causing a critical hit though.

That is rather ammusing.