Lances and critical hits

By chuckhazard, in Rogue Trader Rules Questions

I'm a little confused about lances and criticals. For every 3 degrees of success, they do an extra hit (which are never combined). The crit rating on all the lances is 3, so they will always crit if they get two hits. Does each hit get a critical roll?

Also, regarding criticals, book states "if the shot does not do any damage to hull integrity" do 1 automatic point of damage and roll 1d5 on the critical table. Does this apply to shots that are absorbed by the void shield?

No, you do not get multiple crits if you exceed the crit rating.

Yes, shots completely absorbed by void shields still apply a critical effect.

It is weapon strength, I think what must be overcome to gain an additional hit.
But as our ship has no lance, I do not know if lancec have a Strength rating.

They do but the rules as written and confirmed by FFG staff prevent Lances from scoring more than one hit. Kind of ridiculous considering in fluff a lance strike against a Tau explorer vessel (a battleship sized vessel) punched a hole clean through its hull.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but last I recall the FFG comment was that lance's work the same as macrocannons in this regard. Since most lances only have a strength of 1, they cannot do more than 1 hit. However, should a lance have a strength greater than 1 then it could, like macrobatteries, do additional hit(s). I don't recall anything that said "lances can only ever do a single hit".

dvang said:

Correct me if I'm wrong, but last I recall the FFG comment was that lance's work the same as macrocannons in this regard. Since most lances only have a strength of 1, they cannot do more than 1 hit. However, should a lance have a strength greater than 1 then it could, like macrobatteries, do additional hit(s). I don't recall anything that said "lances can only ever do a single hit".

That is indeed correct. Bobh is wrong in this case.