Missed Turn

By LordAlmgren, in Talisman Rules Questions

A friend of mine says that if you encounter something that makes you miss a turn (like the Siren), your turn instantly ends.

So if you have drawn a second card you should not be able to encounter it, and if this is the case, is that "half missed turn" counted as your missed turn or do you need to miss your next turn also?

And what about the Highlander in this case, should he end his turn instantly after a fight where he charged? So he could not pick up any items after a charge fight?

"Losing A Turn

Any instructions that result in the loss of a turn by the character
encountering them ends the character’s turn immediately.
This counts as a missed turn for that character if there
are other cards to be encountered; otherwise, he misses his
next turn instead." (p. 16)

IIRC, doesn't the Highlander card specifically state he misses his NEXT turn?

At work so not 100% sure.

Thels said:

IIRC, doesn't the Highlander card specifically state he misses his NEXT turn?

At work so not 100% sure.

He says indeed next turn, but as the manual says about missing turns,.. if you encounter more cards, then you must end your turn, and you can play further in your next turn happy.gif

Yes, but not in case of the Highlander, that is, if I understand correctly.

If you use your charge ability, you must miss your NEXT turn, so your CURRENT turn continues as normal, and you can pick up other objects on the space.

Otherwise, the Highlander would indeed have the problem of not being able to pick up objects guarded by other creatures.

Thels said:

Yes, but not in case of the Highlander, that is, if I understand correctly.

If you use your charge ability, you must miss your NEXT turn, so your CURRENT turn continues as normal, and you can pick up other objects on the space.

Otherwise, the Highlander would indeed have the problem of not being able to pick up objects guarded by other creatures.

That's no problem for me.

Charging on draw 2 places to attack enemies, with a chance not missing a turn makes him good.

But if no other cards can be encounterd, as on draw 1 spaces, then he must miss his next turn.

The ability can be very useful,, that's why he need to go to the highlands.

There is no difference as far as i know between missing a turn, or missing your next turn. We still follow the rulebook.

Velhart said:

There is no difference as far as i know between missing a turn, or missing your next turn. We still follow the rulebook.

The rulebook states that if you miss a turn, you must miss your current turn if there are still things to encounter (such as extra cards), or your next turn if there are not.

If an ability states that you must miss your next turn specifically, it shouldn't affect your current turn, only your next. Else the word 'next' in there would be totally obsolete and misleading.

Thels said:

Velhart said:

There is no difference as far as i know between missing a turn, or missing your next turn. We still follow the rulebook.

The rulebook states that if you miss a turn, you must miss your current turn if there are still things to encounter (such as extra cards), or your next turn if there are not.

If an ability states that you must miss your next turn specifically, it shouldn't affect your current turn, only your next. Else the word 'next' in there would be totally obsolete and misleading.

I have sent the question to John Goodenough

I think at least that there is no diffence.

I have never heard about it. turns can also stack, and if you miss 2 times your next turn in your current turn, then you still miss 2 turns.

maybe i get a answer soon gui%C3%B1o.gif

This is the answer i got from John:

The Highlander's special ability to charge could have been worded better but how it is supposed to work is you take your entire turn as normal, but then you must miss your next turn. So you would be allowed to pick up the Object after charging in battle. Normally when you are forced to miss your turn you would not be able to encounter other cards during that turn, but the Highlander's ability is an exception to this.

Regards

The Wizard said:

This is the answer i got from John:

The Highlander's special ability to charge could have been worded better but how it is supposed to work is you take your entire turn as normal, but then you must miss your next turn. So you would be allowed to pick up the Object after charging in battle. Normally when you are forced to miss your turn you would not be able to encounter other cards during that turn, but the Highlander's ability is an exception to this.

Regards

Yes if the special ability is at variance with the basic rule, the special ability overrides the rule!

Ell.

Highlander's third abillity is not so useful anymore sad.gif

He must always miss a turn now, if he use his ability.

The way i was playing him is that he could use his charge ability on draw 2 or 3 spaces and ending his turn after he kill a enemy, so he could move on in his next turn, as the basic rule in the rulebook says.

This would work pretty good for the Highlands..

Seems like it is a golden rule too...