Question about Chain Lightning and Fateweaver

By cchopman, in Warhammer Invasion Rules Questions

MC28 Chain Lightning (Tactic)

Spell.

Action: Destroy up to two target attacking units, each with a printed cost 3 or lower.

LE 30 Kairos Fateweaver (Legend)

Each development you control becomes a unit with 2 hit points and **. It still counts as a development.

Can I use "Chain Lighning" (MC 28) to destroy the "unit", which still counts as a development?

You most certainly can. Yes.

Can you affect something that has no printed cost with an effect that triggers off printed cost?

To me, Chain lightning kills units with printed cost 3 or lower (so the printed cost must be 0, 1, 2 or 3). So, litterally speaking, the development/unit with Kairos doesn't have a printed cost of 0, 1, 2 or 3. So I think it doesn't work.

Yeah, developments don't have zero cost, they have no cost, so they aren't valid targets for that.

****! I forgot about that requirement of Chain Lightening! I just thought it hit units. Do'H!

Entropy42 said:

Yeah, developments don't have zero cost, they have no cost, so they aren't valid targets for that.

Yeah, see the ruling in the rules summary about Easy Pickins. I couldn't find it off the top of my head when I wrote my previous post.