Qs on reaper, assassin and encountering two enemies together

By ogg monster, in Talisman Rules Questions

Hi there

Newbie here. Came across this forum and having had a good nose through realised we have been playing a few things "wrong" so have a few questions on things that have caused disagreement over the last couple of games:

1) when playing the reaper expansion, if someone has dreadwing or riding horse and therefore rolling two dice for their move, if one of the die rolls is a 1 does this invoke the reaper? Had this argument this afternoon. I said that as I rolled a 6 and a 1 for my move then reaper came into play as I had rolled a 1. husband said total dice roll needed to be one (we went with my rule which didn't go down well as husband then got hit by reaper)

2) When playing Assasin, can the Assasin actually assasinate any enemy it meets when it draws an adventure card? This seems ludicrously easy for the Assasin and I argued that they should only be able to assasinate when attacking a character or landing on an already upturned card as I think when they encounter the enemy by drawing the card the enemy is actually attacking them. However as 5 year old son was playing Assassin we let him do it, but am sure this is wrong personally.

3) When you encounter 2 enemies on the same space you obviously need to fight them together, so their strength or craft is added together. Do those enemies get a dice roll each or is it just one dice roll for the pair of them. We have been playing one dice roll between them but not sure whether this is strictly the correct way.

Thanks all

ogg monster said:

Hi there

Newbie here. Came across this forum and having had a good nose through realised we have been playing a few things "wrong" so have a few questions on things that have caused disagreement over the last couple of games:

1) when playing the reaper expansion, if someone has dreadwing or riding horse and therefore rolling two dice for their move, if one of the die rolls is a 1 does this invoke the reaper? Had this argument this afternoon. I said that as I rolled a 6 and a 1 for my move then reaper came into play as I had rolled a 1. husband said total dice roll needed to be one (we went with my rule which didn't go down well as husband then got hit by reaper)

2) When playing Assasin, can the Assasin actually assasinate any enemy it meets when it draws an adventure card? This seems ludicrously easy for the Assasin and I argued that they should only be able to assasinate when attacking a character or landing on an already upturned card as I think when they encounter the enemy by drawing the card the enemy is actually attacking them. However as 5 year old son was playing Assassin we let him do it, but am sure this is wrong personally.

3) When you encounter 2 enemies on the same space you obviously need to fight them together, so their strength or craft is added together. Do those enemies get a dice roll each or is it just one dice roll for the pair of them. We have been playing one dice roll between them but not sure whether this is strictly the correct way.

Thanks all

Welcome to the forums.

1) It has to be a natural "1" on one die to activate the Reaper, so not when using Riding Horse or Dreadwing!

2) Assassin can assassinate Enemies that he draws too (not psychic combat). Yes very easy to win most of the time, but this is his only ability.

3) You only roll one die and add it to the combined Strength or Craft of the Enemies (must have same encounter number).

Ell.

If you want any quick answers just email me: [email protected]

Thanks for quick reply, looks like I was wrong on both counts (1 & 2) then. Oops.

assasin is no longer in play, du too him being too powerful now. the first assasin could onley attack already drawn card, so you could play him like old times.

As a House Rule, we allow you to move the Reaper if you get "double ones" when rolling two dice.