Combat example with questions

By murphzero, in WFRP Rules Questions

Okay I ran a basic sample encounter to see where I had questions in the rules. Only found a few questions, but not sure if everything went right. So here goes:

-------------------------------------------------------------------
Brigitta Tageslicht the Roadwarden pursues a cutpurse into the city sewers - only to lose sight of them when her torch falls into the ankle-deep water ( **** chaos stars ).

When she finally re-ignites the torch, its light reveals a dark figure rising out of the water nearby. Steel flashes in its h- paws??

Begin Combat

Brigitta is at close range with the figure (a Gutter Runner), but is not engaged with it. She has her pistol in one hand and her torch in the other.

Brigitta
Strength 4 Intelligence 3
Tough 3 Willpower 3
Agility 4 Fellowship 3

Longsword DR5 / CR3
Father's Pistol DR6 / CR2
Pierce 1, Reload, Unreliable 2 Close Range

Leather Armor: Defense 0, Soak 2
Buckler: Defense 1, Soak 0

Fortune Points: 3

---------
Gutter Runner

Strength 3 Intelligence 3 (+1 fortune)
Toughness 3 Willpower 3
Agility 5 (+1 fortune) Fellowship 3

Damage 4
Soak 2
Defense 2

Aggression 2
Cunning 4
Expertise 2

----------

Initiative Rolls
Brigitta has an Agility of 4 and is in a neutral stance.
She rolls 4 blue dice and nets only a single success.

Brigitta is at position 1 on the initiative track.

The Gutter Runner has an Agility of 5 (+1 fortune) and is in a conservative stance 2. The GM rules that the Runner will get an additional fortune die because it was lying in wait.
The Runner rolls 3 blue dice, 2 green dice and 2 fortune dice, netting 3 successes and a Delay.

The Runner is placed at position 3 on the initiative track, but the GM chooses to use the Delay to move it down to position 2.

Q1: Are stances applicable in initiative rolls?

----------
Gutter Runner's first action:

The Runner does not alter its stance (GMs have enough to do). It uses its free maneuver to draw a throwing dagger.
It then uses the Quick-Quick, Kill-Kill action to throw it at Brigitta.

Its Agility is 5 (+1 Fortune) and it's in a conservative stance 2.
That translates into 3 blue dice / 2 green dice / 1 fortune die
1 purple challenge dice for base difficulty.

Brigitta's buckler is unslung (no help there) but she will declare a dodge reaction, which adds 1 black misfortune die (Coordination is untrained, downer).

Final Dice Pool: 3 blue / 2 green / 1 white / 1 purple / 1 black.

The Runner nets 2 successes and a delay.
The GM puts 2 recharge tokens on the Runner's Dodge action.

The two successes mean the attack hits and the GM can add a recharge token to one of Brigitta's actions. The GM puts the token on her Ranged Shot card (no pistol for you!)

The damage ends up as Agility of 5 + Throwing Dagger's DR of 4 = 9.
Less Brigitta's soak value of 2, so -

7 wounds to Brigitta (she's down to 5).
Lastly, the Runner takes a recharge token off its Dodge action, leaving 1.

Runner's Status: 0 wounds / Stress: 0 / Fatigue: 0

Q2: Are there limits on what action cards can be subject to Delay tokens? Were there any of Brigitta's actions that could not be delayed?

----------

Brigitta's first action
She's in serious trouble, alone and wounded with no option to fire her pistol this round. (In the excitement, let's say her player forgets about taking the recharge token off using a Fortune point.)
With her free action, she'll sling her buckler and drop her torch. Sssss, lights out.
She will take 1 fatigue to move to medium range (closer to the sewer entrance, with its natural light).
She will then perform Assess The Situation.
Rolling 3 blue dice for her INT, she nets 3 successes. A great roll, but all it means is that she will recover her fatigue point back - and gain a defense bonus until her next turn.
At the end of her turn, she takes a recharge token off her dodge action (leaving 1) and removes the only recharge token on her Ranged Shot action.

Brigitta's Status: 7 normal wounds / Stress: 0 / Fatigue: 0

----------
Gutter Runner's second action:
For its free maneuver, the Runner draws another throwing dagger.
It suffers 1 fatigue and moves to close range.
It then uses a basic Ranged Shot action to throw its dagger at the Roadwarden.

Again, its rolling 5 dice +1 fortune for its agility in a conservative stance of 2.
3 blue / 2 green / 1 white.
1 purple challenge die for base difficulty.

Brigitta's buckler is now slung (+1 Defense), her successful Assess the Situation adds another misfortune dice - and she will declare a Block reaction, which adds yet another misfortune die (Resilience is untrained, another downer). Total of 3 misfortune dice.

So: 3 blue / 2 green / 1 white / 1 purple / 3 black.
The Runner rolls three successes, but they are cancelled out by three challenges. A miss.
He gets 3 boons though, which gives the Runner a free maneuver.
He chooses to engage with Brigitta ( She must not escape! )

Lastly, the Runner takes the last recharge token off its Dodge action.

Runner's Status: 0 Wounds / Stress: 0 / Fatigue: 1

Q3: When the Runner wins a free maneuver from the boons on its action roll, can it make one of this turns maneuvers retroactively free (recover 1 fatigue) instead of simply doing more in the turn?

Q4: Can the Runner use the free maneuver on its next turn?

----------

Brigitta's second action:
It's now or never for Brigitta, so she goes all out.
She uses her free stance shift to move 1 space deep into the Reckless stance.
She chooses to suffer 1 stress and moves it an additional space into the Reckless stance (Reckless 2).
She then uses her free maneuver to draw her sword in her off hand, and
-declares the Execution Shot action.

She'll roll 4 dice for her agility, since she's 2 deep in the Reckless stance that's
2 blue and 2 red.
She's opting for the additional difficulty option of following it up with a melee attack - so instead of 1 challenge dice, she'll face 2.
The Runner has a defense of 2 and elects to dodge.

Since this is a go-for-broke move, Brigitta is spending all her fortune points - 3.

So: 2 blue / 2 red / 3 white / 2 purple / 3 black

She nets 2 successes, but 4 banes. Her shot hits!
Damage: Agility 4 + Pistol DR 6 - Runner's soak 2. Normally that would be 8 wounds, but Brigitta's pistol is Pierce 1, so it ignores 1 of the Runner's soak.
4 + 6 - 1 = 9 Wounds

The Runner waivers, but is still standing.

The banes mean she adds another recharge token to the Execution Shot action, and suffers 1 stress.

Q5: There are four banes, but the delay/stress row on the Execution Shot card requires only two - I'm assuming it can only happen once, right?

Brigitta accepted an additional challenge die for Execution Shot, so she immediately gets to use a Melee Attack.

Q6: I'm reading Execution Shot as you get the free melee attack regardless of whether or not the Execution Shot succeeds or not, is that right?

Q7: If her action resulted in a delay, what would happen if the GM assigned recharge tokens to Brigitta's Melee Attack action?

Brigitta's making her melee attack with her longsword.
Strength 4 is four dice, in her Reckless 2 stance, that's
2 blue and 2 red.
1 challenge die for the default melee difficulty-
And the Runner still has a defense 2, but cannot Dodge (still recharging) or Block (no shield).

So: 2 blue / 2 red / 1 purple / 2 black

Brigitta nets 2 successes, a bane and 1 fatigue. Hit.

STR 4 + the Longsword's DR 5 - Runner's Soak 2 = 7 wounds.

The Runner has taken 15 total wounds - knocking it unconscious.

Lastly, Brigitta takes a recharge token off of her Execution Shot and Block actions, leaving 3 and 1 remaining respectively. She then takes the last recharge token off of her Dodge action.

Brigitta's Status: 8 normal wounds / Stress: 2 / Fatigue: 1

----------

With the Runner face down in the water, Brigitta considers leaving him to drown slowly - but raises her sword for a killing stroke.

"Aye, kill the rat," a voiced suddenly called. "But leave your blade in his back, and back off."

A figure, one arm raised high, hovered on the edge of the light. It stepped forward and a glint of steel caught her across the face.

"Looks like I'll be keeping this purse after all..."

The man still held the silken purse he'd taken off the merchant in his hand.

His other hand held a hand axe. "...and I'll be taking that pistol, too."

Brigitta slew the ratling and leaned on the pommel heavily. Sigmar be good...it was just a fat man's purse... why did I ever come in here?

there are some more experienced guys to answer your questions, but I just wanted to say - great action :)

One big error that sorta skews everything is that when you calculate damage you subtract toughness from the damage as well as any soak from armor. As for everything else I think you got most of it right. But I haven't looked up any specific cards.

yep

Universal rule summary

Calculate the damage potential: the total value of the
attacker’s Strength (melee) or Agility (ranged) plus the
NPC’s or weapon’s damage rating (DR), plus any extra
damage added by the action card or other special effects.


Subtract the target’s damage reduction: the total value of its
Toughness, the soak value of armour or equipment, and the
effects of special abilities or talents.


The result is the number of wounds inflicted.

Thanks guys, that's just why I was showing my work. Figured I had to be missing something.

The funny thing about WFRP is that the core mechanic is pretty simple, but there's a lot of ways to mess things up in upkeep or the little details.

I'll post more examples as I get this stuff cleaned up.

Q1 : yes.

Q2 : No, you can add delay to 0 reload card.

Q3 : yes, runner can use 2 boons to recover 1 fat.

Q4 : No.

Q5 : True but GM use 2 bane for card effect (only once) and 2 banes for generic effect +1 fat (only once too).
So +2 Fatigue

Q7 : if it's her only valid melee attack, she can't attack.

Q1: Yes. Looks like you did initiative correctly.

- Damage from the Skaven's thrown attack forgot to subtract Brigitta's Toughness. Damage was 9, minus 2 for her armor, minus 3 for her toughness. Brigitta takes 4 Wounds (not 7).

Q2: Nope, no limit and you can delay any action card unless it specifically says to add/subtract to a "recharging" card ... in which case only cards that currently have tokens can be affected.

- The Gutter runner, being a non-named NPC, does not suffer fatigue. Instead, he either suffers a wound or loses an A/C/E die.

Q3: No, it isn't retroactive. They get a free maneuver at the point they acquire it.

Q4: No, it needs to be used immediately or lost.

- You forgot that Brigitta had the option for a free stance shift the previous round too, so by her second action she could be 2-deep into red without suffering a Stress.

- I usually give my PCs the option to roleplay the attack (describing it, or saying something appropriate) for an additional fortune die.
- Brigitta is not Trained in Ballistic Skill?
- Again you forgot to subtract Toughness from the damage. 10 minus minus 1 armor soak (2-1 pierce), minus the Skaven's 3 Toughness totals 6 wounds suffered by the Skaven.

Q5: Each line on the card may only be activated once. There is also the universal effects of 2x boons = recover 1 stress or fatigue, and 2x banes = suffer 1 stress or fatigue. So, two banes would trigger the card's effect, and the other two would trigger the universal effect.

Q6: I don't have the card in front of me, but yes I believe that particular card always allows the second attempt.

Q7: Since it is all, sort of, technically the same action, as a GM I would "be nice" and apply it after the melee attack happened. Technically, however, I believe the GM could put the delay on the Melee Strike card, which would prevent the attack from happening.

- Birgitta is not trained in Weapon Skill?
- Again you forgot to subtract toughness from the damage. 9 minus 2 (soak) minus 3 = 4 wounds. The Skaven has suffered a total of 10 wounds from Brigitta's two attacks.

dvang said:

Q1: Yes. Looks like you did initiative correctly.

Q2: Nope, no limit and you can delay any action card unless it specifically says to add/subtract to a "recharging" card ... in which case only cards that currently have tokens can be affected.

- The Gutter runner, being a non-named NPC, does not suffer fatigue. Instead, he either suffers a wound or loses an A/C/E die.

Q3: No, it isn't retroactive. They get a free maneuver at the point they acquire it.

Q4: No, it needs to be used immediately or lost.

- You forgot that Brigitta had the option for a free stance shift the previous round too, so by her second action she could be 2-deep into red without suffering a Stress.

- I usually give my PCs the option to roleplay the attack (describing it, or saying something appropriate) for an additional fortune die.
- Brigitta is not Trained in Ballistic Skill?
- Again you forgot to subtract Toughness from the damage. 10 minus minus 1 armor soak (2-1 pierce), minus the Skaven's 3 Toughness totals 6 wounds suffered by the Skaven.

Q5: Each line on the card may only be activated once. There is also the universal effects of 2x boons = recover 1 stress or fatigue, and 2x banes = suffer 1 stress or fatigue. So, two banes would trigger the card's effect, and the other two would trigger the universal effect.

Q6: I don't have the card in front of me, but yes I believe that particular card always allows the second attempt.

Q7: Since it is all, sort of, technically the same action, as a GM I would "be nice" and apply it after the melee attack happened. Technically, however, I believe the GM could put the delay on the Melee Strike card, which would prevent the attack from happening.

- Birgitta is not trained in Weapon Skill?
- Again you forgot to subtract toughness from the damage. 9 minus 2 (soak) minus 3 = 4 wounds. The Skaven has suffered a total of 10 wounds from Brigitta's two attacks.

Awesome, thanks for taking the time. Missed on the non-named NPC thing - glad they shorthanded that. GMing is enough work without tracking multiple countodowns - yeesh.

Makes sense that free Maneuvers need to be used at the moment they arrive - I just know my players would try anything they could get away with. I didn't forget the free stance shift. I figured at that point the player wasn't sure if they wanted to go reckless or conservative. Percentage wise, I honestly don't know if being neutral is a fool's choice, but I figured I'd see how it went.

Love the house rule. Frankly, the fluidity of the rules is what makes me want to try this system. With my players I'd be afraid they'd turn into thespians, but anything is better than the current 3.5 "I move my figure to this space, using this route, to minimize AOOs and ascend at 45 degrees through three diagonals, which costs me 40 feet of flight movement... wait, am I encumbered?" *snore*

-The universal effects - arrgh! I keep forgetting those. I need to make my own custom reminder screen or something.

-and Training - I whiffed on Brigitta's weapon training, but the stock character in the day late scenario isn't trained in ballistics. Whatevs. javascript:void(0);/*1311039399129*/ Training = +1 yellow die on all attacks? Yarg.

Even with the toughness whiff - I think the scenario would end the same, although Brigitta wouldn't feel quite so desperate with only 4 wounds. But the Runner would go down with 10 wounds...

I'll add to the scenario to try some magic dynamics, ('cos I'm sure I'll screw something up there, too)

Thanks again!

Yep, combat is still pretty dangerous and deadly, with most people being pretty competent to land a hit or two. Adding toughness in, it meant probably just 1 additional round of combat.

Most foes, too, won't fight to the death. If they are getting pretty hurt, and the odds are against them, they will run. For example, unless there is some frenzied story need for the Skaven to absolutely stop Brigitta at all costs, once he's taken over half his wounds he should probably be looking to save himself and escape, unless victory is imminent.