Leaving play during action chain

By tako, in Warhammer Invasion Rules Questions

Today I played Illyriel's action (Action: At the beginning of your turn, return one target units to its owner's hand unless the owner pays you 2 resources) on the opponents Dwarf Ranger. He responded with the Dwarf Ranger's action (Action: After one of your other Dwarf units leave play, deal 1 damage to one target unit or capital).

We were wondering if the Dwarf Rangers action actually will resolve. It is last on the chain and therefore processes first. But when it does, no unit has left play yet, so we assumed the action fizzles. This would mean that Dwarf Ranger cannot protect itself from removal by playing his action. Is this correct?

Many thanks!

Well, the Dwarf ranger effect is not an action, it is a Forced one...

It's forced but it only triggers after a unit has left play. Dwarf ranger leaves play, but his ability is no longer in play to be triggered. It fizzles.

I guess you can not trigger his ability at all because it clearly says "After one of your other ..."

All, thanks for your replies. Apologies, I shall read the cards more carefully before I post. As Bilgaedrin pointed out, the card specifies 'other' units. But in any case it is good for me to understand how the forced effect works in this case, as explained by Doc9. Thanks again!