Pitfiends/Werewolf and Fate.

By Thels, in Talisman Rules Questions

Hi,

If I understand correctly, at Dice with Death, you can only spend 1 Fate for one of your own two dice, and you cannot spend any Fate to influence Death's dice.

Does the same thing apply to the Pitfiends at the Pit and the Werewolf at the Werewolf Den? I would personally think so, since the roll only determines how many Pitfiends there are and how strong the Werewolf is. Only after that do you engage in battle with them, and there you can spend your Fate.

At Dice with Death, you cannot spend Fate to make the challenge easier (the number you need to roll = Death's dice), but only on your own result (the number you roll yourself). It would make sense the same thing counts for the Werewolf and Pitfiends, that you cannot spend Fate to make the challenge easier (the strength you need to beat/the number of monsters you need to beat), but only on your own result (the number you roll in battle).

Is it correct of me to think that way?

Hi Thels,

You are correct with all your questions gui%C3%B1o.gif

greetings, velhart

You are allowed to use fate to re-roll the die at the pit, so i would assume that goes for the werewolf as well. This is a reply i got from John goodenough himself.

"Yes, you can use fate to reroll the die at the Pit Fiends. Generally, any time your character is instructed to roll a die to resolve an encounter you may spend fate to reroll the result."

Best Regards

Hmm, surprise!

That makes me wonder, was there ever an official statement that you cannot use Fate to reroll one of Death's dice? Because it feels exactly the same thing to me.

No i don“t think so. Dice with death must be an encounter like any other space, so according to John, you should be allowed to re-roll the result for death, and that means you may also re-roll one of your own die as you may spend 1 fate for every die roll you make.