Hello,
I've picked up the Talisman game a while ago and recently we've played the game a lot during a gaming weekend. Everyone loved the game, but it did raise lots of questions left and right. I've been going through the rules and cards to write down any possible questions that might arise, and then went through the rules once more, the FAQ and the 5 most recent pages of this forum, to check for clarifications. While that provided a lot of answers, it still left me with a bunch of unanswered questions, so here they are:
Characters:
Q. When I'm the Druid and land on the Woods, but want to encounter another character rather than visiting the Woods, do I still get to replenish my spells (The FAQ says before resolving any encounters, but I'm not sure if that only refers to card encounters on the space or also encounters with other characters)?
Q. When I'm the Druid and my alignment is altered without my choice, can I still voluntarily change my alignment during the same turn?
Q. When I'm the Monk or Priest and I roll a 6 or 12 for praying, can I choose a 7 or 13 to not get any effect (The Shrine is one example where a 6 might not be desirable)?
Q. When I'm the Thief and I land on the Village or Market, can I choose to steal an item and still decide to attack another character on the space rather than encounter the space itself?
Q. When I'm the Minstrel, and I use an Animal follower in battle, do I keep the follower?
Q. When I'm the Minstrel or Ghoul, and I encounter the Cursed by a Hag follower, do I lose all my Animal and Raised followers? Can I recruit new Animal and Raised followers?
Q. When I'm the Minstrel and I land on a character who has both the Maiden follower and the Princess follower, can I steal both during the same encounter?
Q. When I'm the Sorceress and I land on a character who has a Mule follower, can I steal the Mule follower?
Q. When I'm the Sorceress and I land on a character who has the Cursed by a Hag or Poltergeist follower, can I steal the Cursed by a Hag or Poltergeist follower?
Spaces:
Q. When I'm at the Village, can I decide to visit the Blacksmith, and then decide not to buy any object, to prevent having to visit the Mystic?
Q. When I'm at the Village and visit the Blacksmith, can I buy an object more than once? Can I buy an object and then decide not to take it with me, leaving it behind on the space?
Q. I'm a goodaligned character and do not have the Cross. I land on the Graveyard, which is currently haunted by a Ghost. The psychic combat results in a stand-off. Do I lose a life to the Graveyard?
Q. When I land on the Cursed Glade and encounter the space, I cannot use my magic objects and spells. When another character lands on the Cursed Glade, but decides to attack me, can he use magic objects and spells? Can I use them during the fight? If I have a Craft of 2, a Ring and a Wand, does that mean I get a spell when I'm attacked?
Q. When I arrive at the Werewolf's Den or the Pits at a second time during the same game with the same character, do I fight the same Werewolf or the same amount of Pitfiends? What if I did not kill the Werewolf or did not kill the last Pitfiends last time I was here?
Q. When I roll a 1-3 to cast the Command spell, can I use Fate to reroll the die?
Events:
Q. When Evil Darkness, Siren or Storm affects me while I'm a Toad, does the missed turn count towards my 3 turns as a toad? If it counts as my 3rd turn, when do I stop being a Toad?
Q. During Market Day, can I buy a follower or object more than once? Can I buy a follower or object and then decide not to take it with me, leaving it behind on the space?
Q. During Market Day, can I buy a Raft in the inner region? Can I buy a Raft when I already own a Raft?
Enemies:
Q. I land on the Hidden Oasis and draw a Bandit, a Dragon and a Water Bottle. If I pay 1 gold to the Bandit, do I still fight the Dragon? Can I pick up the Water Bottle after defeating the Dragon, even though the Bandit remains? If I draw 2 Bandits, can I pay 2 gold to bribe both? Can I pick up the Water Bottle after bribing both Bandits?
Followers:
Q. Can I have 2 identical followers (2 Mules or 2 Guides)? What if the followers are from different decks (1 Mule from the Adventure deck and 1 Mule from the Purchase deck)? If I have 2 Mules, how many objects can I carry?
Q. When I have the Alchemist and am carrying 4 objects, and I encounter a space that has 1 object in it, can I turn the object in the space into gold without dropping any of my other objects? Can I turn one of my objects into gold to pick up the object in the space?
Q. When I have the Alchemist, can I convert a Raft I built with my Axe last round into Gold? If so, can I spend this turn to build another Raft?
Q. I'm the Troll with 1 life remaining and the Prince and Princess as my followers. When I land on the Castle, can I heal back to 6 lives for free as the Castle indicates, or back to 3 lives as the Prince or Princess indicates, or can I count them together and heal back up to 5 lives? If I can heal back up to 3 or 5 lives for free, can I still pay 3 or 1 gold to get healed up to 6 lives?
Q. When I start my turn at the Castle, and I have the Prince and Princess as my followers, can I cash them in for 3 gold each before rolling the die to move?
Q. When I have the Prince and Princess as my followers and I land on the Castle, can I cash them in for 3 gold each, but decide to attack another character on the Castle space, rather than visiting the Royal Doctor?
Objects:
Q. Can I have 2 identical objects (2 Swords or 2 Talismans)? What if the objects are from different decks (1 Sword from the Adventure deck and 1 Sword from the Purchase deck)? If I am the Warrior, can I wield 2 identical weapons?
Q. When I encounter or buy a Raft on the Crags, can I use it to travel to the Chasm? When I encounter or buy a Raft on the Plains next to the Crags, can I use it to travel to the Runes next to the Warlock's Cave?
Q. Can I decide to build a Raft using an Axe, and then decide not to take it with me? Does it remain on the space for another character to pick up or does it return to the Purchase deck?
Q. When I have an Axe and the Raft from the Adventure deck and I am at the Woods or the Forest, can I decide to build another Raft, effectively skipping a turn?
Q. When I have an Axe and I am at the Woods or the Forest, but there currently is no Raft available in the Purchase deck, since another player just built a Raft, can I decide to build a Raft, effectively skipping a turn?
Q. When does a Bag of Gold turn into an Object? Does this happen when drawn, when encountered, or when picked up?
Q. I carry the Amulet object but want to cast a spell. Can I drop the Amulet object on the space I am at to cast the spell?
Q. I use the Rune Sword object and fight 2 Wild Boars in combat. I win the combat and both Wild Boars are slain. Do I receive 1 or 2 lives? What if another character casts the Preservation spell to save one of the Wild Boars?
Spells:
Q. I start my turn with 1 spell. I land on the Ruins and encounter Magical Vortex, which takes my spell, and Mage, who gives me the Healing spell. Can I cast the Healing spell, even though I was without spells for a while?
Q. Can I cast Alchemy to convert a Raft I built with my Axe last round into Gold? If so, can I spend this turn to build another Raft?
Q. When I want to Counterspell the Aquisition, Alchemy, Destruction, Healing, Hex, Immobility, Invisibility, Mesmerism, Nullify, Random or Teleport spell, do I need to do so before the caster decides which characters, spaces, creatures and cards to affect, or can I do so after?
Q. I carry the Amulet when another character casts a spell, which I want to Counterspell. Can I drop the Amulet on the space I am at to cast the Counterspell spell?
Q. Can I Counterspell the Destroy Magic spell or Nullify spell cast on me, or do they prevent me from casting the Counterspell spell?
Q. Does Destroy Magic affect the character carrying the Amulet? Can the character carrying the Amulet drop it after Destroy Magic has been cast to cast spells?
Q. Can I use Destruction to destroy a card from the Purchase or Talisman deck?
Q. Can I cast Healing during combat? When I am attacked, can I cast it after the attacker rolled, but before I rolled? Can I cast it after I rolled, but before I spend fate to reroll the die? Can I cast it after I've lost the combat, but before the attacker decided if he wants to take an object or gold, or take my life? Can I cast it after the attacker decided he wants to take my life, but before I rolled for my armour? Can I cast it after I rolled for my armour, but before I spend fate to reroll the die?
Q. Can I cast Healing when someone announces to cast the Command spell? Can I cast Healing after someone rolled the die for the Command spell?
Q. Does the Hex spell count towards the number of cards on that space (If the Hex spell is the only spell at the Fields and I land on the Fields, do I still draw a card)?
Q. Do I lose a life to the Hex spell when I land on that space, but decide to attack another character in the space rather than encountering space?
Q. Can I use Destruction to destroy the Hex spell?
Q. When I want to cast Immobility on a character, when do I cast it? The card says it must be cast at the start of a turn, but the rules actually use an example where she casts it during her move to pass the Sentinel.
Q. Can I cast Invisibility after rolling 2 in the Tavern?
Q. Can I decide to encounter another character rather than visiting a space, but then play Invisibility to evade the other character?
Q. Can I cast Preservation to prevent the Priest or any character with the Cross from automatically destroying a Spirit? If so, do they still get to fight the Spirit, or is the fight immediately considered a stand-off?
Q. Can I cast Preservation to prevent the Prince or Princess being discarded at the Castle?
Q. Can I cast Preservation to prevent the Hag from being discarded at the Mystic or the Poltergeist from being discarded when crossing water?
Q. Can I cast Preservation to prevent turning in a follower as part of the Warlock quest? Do I still get a Talisman?
Q. When I'm the Ghoul, can I cast Preservation to prevent one of my Raised followers from disintegrating after I used it in battle?
Q. When someone casts Random on me, can I spend fate to reroll my die for the effect?
Sorry if it may come over as nit-picking, but some people like to play "by the book". ;-)