A Couple questions...

By Mattousai, in Talisman Rules Questions

I recently began playing Talisman and have been having a lot of fun; I was hoping someone could help with a couple questions we've run into.

First, what exactly constitutes the "Start of your Turn"? For the most part we have been playing that the start is basically an indefinite period of time before a player physically moves their character miniature. What I am wondering about is can an infinite number of things happen during the start or is there one moment that is the “start”.

For example; a player ends their turn and play passes to a Warlock with two spells (lets say they are both "Cast at the start of your turn" spells). The Warlock casts one of these spells at the start of his turn, and then uses his ability to gain his full compliment at the start of his turn. Now he again casts a spell and again gains his full compliment. I haven't been able to find anything that says character abilities can only be used once or anything that defines the end of the start of your turn, so I'm inclined to believe the above actions are legal. (I hope they are not legal because this seems like a cheap way of playing.)

Secondly, we have been playing with 2d6 combat recently and I'm wondering what others do in the case of cards/abilities that say "roll two dice" or "don’t roll a die" for your attack roll. Let’s say someone was playing as the Assassin and is using their Assassinate ability on an enemy, would that enemy not make an attack roll or would it roll only roll 1 die? Generally we have been playing that the enemy would only roll 1 die, unless the card/ability in question says something to the effect of "do not roll for your attack".

Lastly, do cards that say "Miss your next turn" end your current turn?

Thanks for the help!

The Warlock question:

Gaining his full complement of Spells occurs at the very start of his turn. He may then cast any Spells that state "at the start of your turn".

This is the correct sequence that must be followed. The same applies to the Sage and Magus.

Ell.

Mattousai said:

Secondly, we have been playing with 2d6 combat recently and I'm wondering what others do in the case of cards/abilities that say "roll two dice" or "don’t roll a die" for your attack roll. Let’s say someone was playing as the Assassin and is using their Assassinate ability on an enemy, would that enemy not make an attack roll or would it roll only roll 1 die? Generally we have been playing that the enemy would only roll 1 die, unless the card/ability in question says something to the effect of "do not roll for your attack".

I don't use 2d6 but I suggest that:

"roll 2 dice" shall be read "roll 1 extra die", for a total of 3 dice.

"don't roll a die" means that you're not allowed to roll for combat. This makes the Assassin extra-powerful in battle but he already is, so I don't see any issues here.

Mattousai said:

Lastly, do cards that say "Miss your next turn" end your current turn?

No, if not stated otherwise. Cards that say "your turn immediately ends" have this effect, otherwise your turn may be ended because of other events, such as losing a combat. If you lose to the Medusa you have to miss your next two turns, and your current turn ends because of the defeat in psychic combat.

But generally you miss your next turn, period. You're not forced to stop your current Turn (e.g. if the Highlander charges and wins the battle, he may encounter cards with no.3-4-5-6 on the space, since his turn doesn't end immediately).

Thanks for the input, it's much appreciated!