Lost City & Multiple Move Dice

By AGleafe, in Talisman Rules Questions

We had a question that came up this weekend. On the Highland board at the Lost City there was a character who rolled "Lost" that states "stay here until you roll a 4, 5, or 6 for your move." The character had a Riding Horse follower that states "You may roll 2 dice and add them together to determine how far you move."

There were several solutions suggested at the table:

1) The player had to roll only one die for movement, and could not leave until he rolled a 4+.

2) The player could roll 2 dice, but one of them had to be a 4+ before he could leave the space.

3) The player could roll 2 dice, and if they totaled 4+ he could leave the space.

4) They player could roll 2 dice, but the total had to be 4, 5, or 6 before he could leave the space.

We ended up using option '3' but there is no FAQ for this. So, I am looking for some advise as how to deal with this in the future.

Thanks.

The same happens at the Temple. As far as I know, when you're enslaved you need a natural roll on a single die to break free. It was ruled that Toads can roll a die to see if they break free (FAQ) and then move normally. Since the Riding Horse is an option, not a must, I think you'd better roll a single die for movement and move out if you roll a 4,5,6.

Moreover, it was officially ruled that with the Riding Horse you cannot activate the Reaper, even if you roll a 1 on one or both dice. You have to roll one die for movement. I assume that you apply the same principle here.

Even if you could use a riding horse, you wouldn't want to. The Lost City and the Temple both specifically say roll a 4 5 or 6, they don't say roll 4+. So, even if you were allowed to use a 2 dice added effect for movement you still only get out on a 4 5 or 6.

Now statistically, you have a 50% chance of rolling a 4 5 or 6 on 1d6. On 2d6 your chances go down to a 33.3% chance of rolling 4 5 or 6. Rolls of 7+ are wasted anyways because you can't escape on those numbers. So, I can't imagine why anyone would want to use the riding horse while enslaved or lost.

You cannot use the Riding Horse if you are enslaved at the Temple or Lost City, as you must use the result of only 1 die to break free. However, the Amazon may roll 2 dice to break free from enslavement as she chooses which result to use for her move.

Ell.

talismanamsilat said:

You cannot use the Riding Horse if you are enslaved at the Temple or Lost City, as you must use the result of only 1 die to break free. However, the Amazon may roll 2 dice to break free from enslavement as she chooses which result to use for her move.

Ell.

So the Black Witch may do that too lengua.gif

Thanks for you replies. Rolling only a single die makes sense, and that is how we will play it.