Discarding a Card

By Lord_Squinty, in Warhammer: Invasion The Card Game

Hi all,

New to Warhammer Invasion, and a situation cropped up during a game.

I was playing Empire, my friend was using Dark Elves.

Forgive me, I forget the name of the card he used, but essentially it said: "When your opponent discards a card from his hand, deal 1 damage to a terget unit" or words to that effect.

When I played a tactic during the game he argued that the card is not being played into an active zone such as a unit or support card is - so is essentially being discarded into the discard pile.

I argued that I wasn't discarding the card, but playing and in my eyes discarding a card would be "burning it" to the discard pile with no effect.

Luckily, my oopponent isnt the type to ruin a game by arguing petty things and we agreed to play it his way and would ask here later.

So, here I am - asking :)

Any help / insights appreciated,

Squinty

although there is no faq on this matter as far as i no i would say that you played the card and then its effect was used. It then waas discarded from the play zone. It was not discarded from your hand so i would say the card has no effect what so ever but of course i may be wrong

I would tend to agree. In no game that I've ever played is a "played" card considered discarded for that purpose. If it's a tactic, it does indeed end up in the discard pile, but you used it's effect and not just pitched it due to a scout or direct command to. I think Helbane's Riders and similar cards are looking for discarding which means the card is unused and presumably against your will.

When you play a card you are doing exactly that, playing it, not discarding it. Discarding means that the card is going directly into your discard pile from either your hand or your deck, without ever getting into play. You cannot play and discard the same card at the same time as both actions are opposites to each other.

Titan said:

When you play a card you are doing exactly that, playing it, not discarding it. Discarding means that the card is going directly into your discard pile from either your hand or your deck, without ever getting into play. You cannot play and discard the same card at the same time as both actions are opposites to each other.

As the wise and experienced player above me said. A card is discarded if sent to the discard pile. A card in your deck, in your hand or on the field is not discarded. Nor is a card you draw or are playing. Only when sent to the discard pile does it count as 'discarded'. Such effects work well in combination with effects that make players discard cards from hand or deck to the discard pile. The Dark Elves for instance have quite a lot of such cards.