Yeah, so... what would happen if Comet of Casandora is revealed by Teclis' action and it is the tactic I choose to play?
Yeah, so... what would happen if Comet of Casandora is revealed by Teclis' action and it is the tactic I choose to play?
A: After drawing 5 cards and then revealing Comet with Teclis' ability, reshuffle and draw 2 cards for Comet's effect. OR
B: After drawing 5 cards and then revealing Comet with Teclis' ability, draw the very next 2 cards for Comet's effect, then reshuffle.
Doesn't seem to make a difference either way.
Doc9 said:
A: After drawing 5 cards and then revealing Comet with Teclis' ability, reshuffle and draw 2 cards for Comet's effect. OR
B: After drawing 5 cards and then revealing Comet with Teclis' ability, draw the very next 2 cards for Comet's effect, then reshuffle.
Doesn't seem to make a difference either way.
You don't draw cards for Teclis' ability, you just reveal them. And you don't reshuffle for Teclis until you have resolved the optional Tactic. So it seems you would just follow the instructions for Comet, then reshuffle, meaning you would know how much damage it would deal ahead of time. I would guess you can reveal a card that is already revealed, meaning that Comet will act on the first 2 cards revealed by Teclis. If Comet is one of those 2 cards, you would have to use the 3rd card instead, as once it is played it is no longer in your hand/deck/discard.
And you don't reshuffle for Teclis until you have resolved the optional Tactic.
No. You resolve teclis action, then you resolve comet of casandora. What if you reveal a scroll of asur ?
Mouse_PL said:
And you don't reshuffle for Teclis until you have resolved the optional Tactic.
No. You resolve teclis action, then you resolve comet of casandora. What if you reveal a scroll of asur ?
Is there some errata on Teclis I'm missing? The first half of Teclis' action says "you may play a tactic card..." followed by "Then, shuffle"
Why would you resolve them in the order you claim?
If you reveal Scroll of Asur, you can choose to play it. The top 5 cards are already revealed. Once you play Scroll, it is no longer in your deck. So you look at your top 5 at that point, which are the 4 you've already revealed, then the next card. You put them back in any order, then you finish resolving Teclis' action and shuffle, making your Scroll of Asur worthless.
Teclis- Action: At the beginning of your turn, reveal the top 5 cards of your deck. You may play a tactic card revealed this way without paying any costs (following all restrictions).Then, shuffle your deck.
Scroll of Asur - Action: Look at the top five cards of your deck. Then, return them to the top of your deck in any order.
Is there some errata on Teclis I'm missing? The first half of Teclis' action says "you may play a tactic card..." followed by "Then, shuf fle"
To explain what I mean - you resolve one effect before moving to another so 1. you search the deck 2. play the tactic 3. shuffle your deck 4. then resolve the action of the tactic. The same thing happens when you play the dwarf cannon crew and bring a derricsburg forge into your mission zone, you shuffle your deck and then draw a card. You resolve one the action before moving onto another.
What if I bring reclaiming the fallen or stand your ground with teclis, and bring back to life a dwarf cannon crew - you would look at a addicional card then shuffle your deck, and then shuffle your deck another time ?
I might be wrong, cause I can`t find anything in the rule book or FAQ to help me support my version ( yours too BTW )
If you reveal Scroll of Asur, you can choose to play it. The top 5 cards are already revealed. Once you play Scroll, it is no longer in your deck. So you look at your top 5 at that point, which are the 4 you've already revealed, then the next card. You put them back in any order, then you finish resolving Teclis' action and shuffle, making your Scroll of Asur worthless.
Youre just supporting my version
. Look on this situation: i have scroll of asur on my hand, i choose to play comet form teclis, and play scroll in response to comet. In your version scroll would be resolved as a part of teclis action.
Doesn't seem to make a difference either way.
I think it is a diffrence cause you get to choose if it is the right moment for the coment
You actually do resolve the revealed tactic completely before you finish resolving Teclis' action. His action is worded like Slaanesh's Domination, see the rulings on that.
Basically, Teclis can be part of an action chain (call it Chain A), say
Chain A: Abandoned Mine, Teclis, Innovation
You start resolving this chain, Innovation resolves, Teclis begins to resolve, you reveal (not draw, not search) 5 cards, then you may play a revealed tactic.
If you play a revealed tactic, it starts its own Action Chain (B) that is inside Chain A. Lets say you find Stand Your Ground.
Chain B: Stand Your Ground, opponent responds with Innovation
Resolve B: Innovation resolves, SYG resolves. you return Dwarf Cannon Crew to play. You resolve its forced effect, searching the top 5 cards (which is the 5 you revealed, minus SYG, plus the next card in your deck). You find a support and put it into play. You shuffle your deck.
Chain B has resolved, you return to Chain A.
You finish resolving Teclis (shuffle again).
Then resolve Abandoned Mine.
you can`t have an action chain inside another, as chains cannot be interuupted as they are resolved
Q: Can I take an action while
an action chain is resolving?
A: No. You may only take actions
during an acton chain before all
players pass. Once all players pass, the
chain resolves in a “last in, first out”
manner and no effects can be added
to the chain.
I disagree with you. First you resolve one action then move onto another. What you wrote proves that a concept of action in between actions is quite absurd, isnt it ?
If I may chip in on your debate.
If a card uses the word “then” the preceding effect must have resolved successfully before the effect following the term “then” can be resolved.
1.4 faq under multiple effects.
Since 'play a tactic' is once of the preceding effects, it has to be met before you can reshuffle the deck. If we treat it the same way as playing a tactic from hand, then it kind of goes against the whole action chain sequence, leaving us unable to proceed with Teclis effect as a whole. But then, I think that the intention behind this card was that the chosen tactic would become a temporary part of the aforementioned effect, akin to the twin-tailed comet, and until an errata comes out with proof to the contrary, I think it's the safest explanation.
Mouse_PL said:
I disagree with you. First you resolve one action then move onto another. What you wrote proves that a concept of action in between actions is quite absurd, isnt it ?
Did you read the ruling on Slaneesh's Domination? It says right there that you create an action chain inside the original chain, and resolve the SD-based chains first.
You're right that the rules say you can't take an action while a chain is resolving, but this card overrides that, just like SD does (golden rule). As GrumpyStranger points out, they also say you have to resolve the first part completely before resolving the second part (when "Then" is used). That's not possible unless you resolve the revealed tactic before you shuffle.
Doc9 said:
A: After drawing 5 cards and then revealing Comet with Teclis' ability, reshuffle and draw 2 cards for Comet's effect. OR
B: After drawing 5 cards and then revealing Comet with Teclis' ability, draw the very next 2 cards for Comet's effect, then reshuffle.
Doesn't seem to make a difference either way.
in my opinion, it will be the B, there is a different between A ans B is the first 5 reveal cards will be reshuffle in or not.
1. At beginning of your turn, Teclis reveal top 5 cards of your deck, one of those cards is Comet and you play it.
2. then you reveal the next 2 cards of the top of your deck(because the first revealed 5 cards is not a part of top of your deck now), resolve the Comet's effect, put those 2 cards on the bottom of your deck,
3. then reshuffle the other 4 cards(you used Comet) back into your deck.
LiouKen said:
2. then you reveal the next 2 cards of the top of your deck(because the first revealed 5 cards is not a part of top of your deck now), resolve the Comet's effect, put those 2 cards on the bottom of your deck,
You don't draw 5 cards, you just reveal them. I don't know of any rulings that would indicate they aren't part of your deck once they are revealed.
They're still a part of the deck. Lord of Change sets a precedent here, so I don't think any ruling is necessary. Basicaly, with the first five cards revealed, if you play the Comet, you'd be using either the two first revealed cards, or two of the three first, if one of them was the comet itself.