soul drinker and goblin trapsmith

By Thulsa_Doom, in Talisman Rules Questions

soul drinker, roll 2 dice in battle and choose which result to use for attack roll, if you roll doubles it will kill one of followers at random and melt to the discard pile. Keep in mind it does NOT say roll 2 dice for your attack roll.

Goblin trapsmith, you must roll 1 extra die for your attack roll and use the lowest result.

I argued the 2 dice you roll for the soul drinker is not your attack roll and therefore both effects happen.

The RESULT of the 2 dice you roll for the soul drinker is the attack roll, not the 2 dice you roll for the soul drinker.

so you roll 2 dice for the soul drinker take the higher dice result for the attack roll, say you roll (1 & 6) trapsmith says u roll a extra die for the attack roll, say you roll (4).

I argued you take the RESULT roll from the sword (6) which is your attack roll and the extra die for the attack roll from the trapsmith (4)and you pick the lowest result. which would be a 4 in this example.

what do you guys think?

Thulsa_Doom said:

soul drinker, roll 2 dice in battle and choose which result to use for attack roll, if you roll doubles it will kill one of followers at random and melt to the discard pile. Keep in mind it does NOT say roll 2 dice for your attack roll.

Goblin trapsmith, you must roll 1 extra die for your attack roll and use the lowest result.

I argued the 2 dice you roll for the soul drinker is not your attack roll and therefore both effects happen.

The RESULT of the 2 dice you roll for the soul drinker is the attack roll, not the 2 dice you roll for the soul drinker.

so you roll 2 dice for the soul drinker take the higher dice result for the attack roll, say you roll (1 & 6) trapsmith says u roll a extra die for the attack roll, say you roll (4).

I argued you take the RESULT roll from the sword (6) which is your attack roll and the extra die for the attack roll from the trapsmith (4)and you pick the lowest result. which would be a 4 in this example.

what do you guys think?

Your reasonement is not very easy to follow, but it seems you consider that the attack roll is the result of the attack roll. I think a roll is the act of rolling. Soul Drinker lets you roll 2 dice (for your attack roll) in battle and choose which result to use; Goblin Trapsmith forces you to roll 1 extra die for your attack roll and take the lowest result.

If I remember well there was a similar issue with Warrior's ability and Goblin Trapsmith. Based on the Can vs. Cannot rule, the penalty you receive by the Goblin Trapsmith trumps your Character (or your Weapon) Special Ability. You're just going to roll 2 dice and choose the lowest result. Better not to use Soul Drinker then, because if you roll doubles you still lose a Follower.

The Warlock is correct!

Ell.

talismanamsilat said:

The Warlock is correct!

Ell.

Great, I finally got one 100% right answer. gran_risa.gif

Memory of all the previous discussions is slowly fading.

no a attack roll is not the result of the attack roll, that i am afraid that is not what i said.

it is as stated, roll 2 dice in battle and choose which result to use for your attack roll

rolling 2 dice in battle is not a attack roll. Rolling 2 dice in battle is, rolling 2 dice in battle.

Just because you roll 2 dice in battle, does not make any die/dice you roll in battle your attack roll.

by your logic any roll in battle is therfore your attack roll, i say poppycock.

If you use a elixer of rage, potion of str, cast random there is a huge list of spells or items you can use or cast in battle that make you roll a die/dice, the result of the random would not be your attack roll just because you roll it in battle.

I would argree with the can vs cannot rule if it was applicable.

Thulsa_Doom said:

If a card or ability states a character can roll 2 dice in battle, this becomes that characters attack roll for the battle once he has rolled the dice. In the case of the Warrior having to fight the Goblin Trapsmith, the Warrior rolls 2 dice and must use the lowest result! No poppycock here lol

yep, warrior has 2 attack rolls just like the warrior says. I can't argue with that.

no poppycock at all with the warrior ;)

clear cut on the warrior, says it right on the card I completely agree the two dice you roll in battle are your attack rolls, since the card clearly states this. If the soul drinker said what the warrior says, I would not have posed the debate.

soul drinker is not the same as the warrior, totally different wording. It would be nice to see the warrior melt to the discard pile if he rolled doubles though.