Plague Bomb with just one target in play ?

By Gog-Lutin, in Warhammer Invasion Rules Questions

Can you play Plague Bomb if you have only one target in play ? Causing him one Damage (the 2 other effects are ''fizzled'' without any target)?

For sure, if there are valid targets, you MUST apply each effect (even on your own units)... but if there are no other (?).

Thx for any answer.

Plague Bomb requires to have valid target 3 units in play, and yes you have to hit your own units sometimes

So just to be sure, if I play Plague Bomb on 3 target units, and my opponent plays in response a tactic that would return one of the target units in hand, does the Plague Bomb fizzle ? Or only this effect ?

For en effect to fizzle, all of it's targets have to become illegal. Removing just one doesn't change anything.

Plague bomb needs 3 units in play to be played, as in order to succesfulty trigger a card effect you must pay the cost and declare all the targets (faq 1.4 pg.4 "triggering card effect").

After bomb has been played returning one unit to its owners hand won`t cancel the effect because, if any of the targets are still legal when the card effect resolves, then the card effect will resolve normaly affetcing the legal targets only ( again faq 1.4 pg.5 "illegal target"). The action is activated as a whole but its multiple effects are resolved separatley. Still it is non-combat damage so any tactic/ action needs to be played in response to plague bomb, to take efect before unit is applied damage.

In my opinion

1.even if only one unit in play(include both side), you still can play Plague Bomb, but you only can deal one damage,

2.If there are 3 unit in play and one is yours, you need fulfill the action, so you need to deal damage to your unit(but of cause you can deal the smaller damage first to your unit)

3.If someone use action respond Plague Bomb to return his been targeted unit to hand, the other 2 units still are legal target, so those 2 units still take damage.

@Liouken, In any case you must fulfill the action when you play it, so your case 1, is not legal, chosing 3 different target is not optional, it's mandatory. (cf faq or even maybe in the core rule)

Mouse_PL said:

Plague bomb needs 3 units in play to be played, as in order to succesfulty trigger a card effect you must pay the cost and declare all the targets (faq 1.4 pg.4 "triggering card effect").

After bomb has been played returning one unit to its owners hand won`t cancel the effect because, if any of the targets are still legal when the card effect resolves, then the card effect will resolve normaly affetcing the legal targets only ( again faq 1.4 pg.5 "illegal target"). The action is activated as a whole but its multiple effects are resolved separatley. Still it is non-combat damage so any tactic/ action needs to be played in response to plague bomb, to take efect before unit is applied damage.

Since it's non-combat damage, wouldn`t it apply as soon as it is assigned? In that case, the only time an action could be played is right after the plague bomb tactic has been played, to cancel the tactic, remove targets or the like. Once Plague Bomb starts resolving, I don't think there is any more action window to cancel any damage.