Another Creature Confusion Thread.

By Gnutten, in WFRP Rules Questions

Another Creature Confusion Thread.

Ive been trough quite allot of threads concerning how to actually run combat encounters and it looks like I'm not the only one confused about the game.

/rant
The lack of clear rules is rather frustrating. It feels like the general attitude is “well we cont want our GM:s to feel limited, so we don't make any rules or restrictions... or any clear examples either.”

The lack of a recommended creature action card list is just plain stupid! You really cant make any combat encounters on the fly, and new GM:s without a real “feel” for the rules get just dumb-funded about the lack of directions.

Sigh.
/rant of

Lets say we have three characters.
The evil GM creates an encounter with 3 Ungor Henchmen and 2 Gors.

According to Tome of Adventure I guess the Ungors have access to

Savage Strike, Assess the Situation, Dodge, Guarded Position, Melee Attack, Parry, Perform a stunt.

They might have Block (if they have shields) and Ranged Attack (if any ranged weapons). It looks like creatures have weapons and armour included in their stats, but that's also a bit fuzzy. A nude or “normally armed” Ungor have soak 1 and defence 0 and a Ungor in Mail Shirt have Soak 2 (or 3??) and Defence 1.

According to the Creature Guide the Ungor and Gors have the same actions cards except Savage Strike... and it sounds utterly weird... and it would also cause the Ungors and Gors to be unable to cause critical wounds.

The Gors have (Tome of Adventure )
Savage Strike, Bestial Howl, Fearsome charge, Assess the Situation, Dodge, Guarded Position, Melee Attack, Parry, Perform a stunt.

A nude or “normally armed” Gor have Soak 2 and Defence 1 and a Gor in Mail Shirt have.. eh... Soak 2 and Defence 1. Ooooki... they all have Mail Shirts?

How many opponents share the same Dodge here? If a character attacks one Ungor Henchman and he uses a Dogde and puts 2 recharge tokens on the card, then I suppose the next Ungor Henchman cant use the card. Is the Gors sharing the same Dodge card? It feels rather odd that the Ungors should skip their ability to Dodge because a Gor might want to Dodge later in the same turn.

Comments?


Re sharing actions like Dodge, only ones of same type share. Ungors share their dodge, Gors share their dodge, each named individual NPC has their own.