Call reinforcments
Cost: 2EEE
Action: Return target unit you control to its owner's hand. Then put into play from your hand a unit with printed cost 3 or less.
I may or must put into play a unit?
Call reinforcments
Cost: 2EEE
Action: Return target unit you control to its owner's hand. Then put into play from your hand a unit with printed cost 3 or less.
I may or must put into play a unit?
Must, if possible. Actions are optional, but once you trigger an action, you have to resolve all parts of it that you can.
You must. Also, you can put target unit back in your hand and THEN put it into play, they don't say another unit.
Hi, first excuse my english
.
I think, there is a bad syntax on card text, because i must put in play a unit after return one to my hand, but if i can't do it?, i can lie my oponent and say "i haven't units below cost4", in may opinion a good text for the card is:
Action: Return target unit you control to its owner's hand. Then, " you may" put into play from your hand a unit with printed cost 3 or less.
You're right that it is theoretically possible to cheat using this card. And generally the cards should be worded so that cheating isn't possible. It doesn't change the fact that the card doesn't say "may", and therefore you must play a unit, unless you are willing to cheat.
It's not cheating!!
If you have no low-cost units in hand, then you cannot play "Call Reinforcments".
Budmilka_fr said:
If you have no low-cost units in hand, then you cannot play "Call Reinforcments".
I don't think so, where in the rules say this?
FAQ specifies that "target" must be checked when playing and resolving an action. (and only targets must be checked)
But abviously in this case :
Action: Return target unit you control to its owner's hand. Then put into play from your hand a unit with printed cost 3 or less.
The only target that you have to check is the unit you control (the one in your hand is not a target of this action).
So if you have a unit with printed cost 3 or less in hand, when you solve the action, you MUST put it in play.
If you have no unit with printed cost 3 or less, when you solve the action, you do nothing.
And you can play this card, whether or not, you have a unit with printed cost 3 or less in hand.
It's an "automatic call" to the referee in a tournament context if your opponent says that he has no such cards in hands, when it's time to solve the action.
Shindulus said:
If you have no unit with printed cost 3 or less, when you solve the action, you do nothing.
Too late for editing. And this sentences may be confusing.
If you have no unit with printed cost 3 or less, when you solve the action, you resolve only what your are able to resolve.
This is the exact same discussion as Dwarf Cannon Crew. You cannot have an unenforcible rule. Therefore, one can always "choose not to find" a suitable unit for the second part of the card. And it's not cheating, it's a strategic decision.
This card, just like DCC, will have it's text changed to say "may".
I think it's the same as "Sorcerer of Tzeentch" :
Action : When you play a development from your hand, put a ressource token on this unit. Then, deal X damage to target unit. X is the number of ressource tokens on this unit.
If you want to have a ressource token on the sorcerer (after playing a development from your hand), you MUST deal X damage to a target unit. You cannot stack these tokens and wait. If your opponent has no units in play for example, you must deal these damage to one of your units if you really want a ressource token on the sorcerer.
Budmilka_fr said:
I think it's the same as "Sorcerer of Tzeentch" :
Action : When you play a development from your hand, put a ressource token on this unit. Then, deal X damage to target unit. X is the number of ressource tokens on this unit.
If you want to have a ressource token on the sorcerer (after playing a development from your hand), you MUST deal X damage to a target unit. You cannot stack these tokens and wait. If your opponent has no units in play for example, you must deal these damage to one of your units if you really want a ressource token on the sorcerer.
Is diferent i think, because you can cheating with then now, you can lie your opponent with the actual text of the card.
In my opinion, FFG must change the text just as they did with the Dwarf Canon Crew