Critical wounds.Again.

By guest461286, in WFRP Rules Questions

Let's say that I make an attack and I inflict 8 damage +2 critical damage.My opponent has 10 soak value.How much damage he will take?

Sorry for posting such a question again but I want to understand it once and for all.

Thanks for the support!

One, and its a crit as far as I know.

Doesnt +2 crit just mean that some of the regular wounds are actually crits?

So I'd have thought that your total damage is only 8, two of those are crits. He would soak all the damage so with the rule that you cant soak all the damage he takes one.. which is a crit.

He will take only two normal wounds. If armor and toughness soak up all the wounds you still do one wound to the target. but since two of those wounds that are soaked up are crits, you convert them to normal wounds.

Chaos85 said:

He will take only two normal wounds. If armor and toughness soak up all the wounds you still do one wound to the target. but since two of those wounds that are soaked up are crits, you convert them to normal wounds.

As far as I am concerned, it's the correct answer.

Chaos85 said:

He will take only two normal wounds. If armor and toughness soak up all the wounds you still do one wound to the target. but since two of those wounds that are soaked up are crits, you convert them to normal wounds.

Now I'm confused!

If this is right and the crits are converted to normal wounds..

8+2 = 10 wounnds done

enemy soaks 10

How does that mean he takes 2? Isnt it 1?

No + 2 criticals doesn't mean 2 additional wounds, just that 2 of the existing 8 wounds are critical. It's best to read + as 'and'. So that sentence would be you took 8 wounds 'and' 2 are critical or you took 8 wounds + 2 of them are critical.

"If one or more critical damage effects are triggered when the difference is zero or a negative number, then the attack inflicts a number of normal wounds equal to the total number of critical damage effects generated. Even if an effect is triggered that would convert normal damage into critical damage, if the only wounds inflicted are due to the minimum wound result, the wounds are all normal wounds."

So if you inflict zero wounds after doing the math then at least one wound is dealt as a consolation prize. However, if you have any criticals in the mix they are converted over to normal wounds.

In the OP, all 8 wounds would go poof and then you convert the two criticals to normies.

MoonShadow said:

Let's say that I make an attack and I inflict 8 damage +2 critical damage.My opponent has 10 soak value.How much damage he will take?

Sorry for posting such a question again but I want to understand it once and for all.

Thanks for the support!

He will take two normal wounds. All wounds are soaked, but critical wounds are converted to normal unsoakable wounds when the total damage is below the wound threshold.

Had he inflicted 11 damage and 2 criticals against 10 soak, then the resulting damage would be one critical wound and one normal wound.

If he had inflicted 10 damage or less and no critical wounds against 10 soak then the resulting damage would simply be the minimum of one normal wound.

Awesome thread, get it now.

Thanks.

Thank you very much all of you!