Questions, various

By LETE, in Tannhauser

Hiyas!

Vexing vexing Tannhauser questions, couldya help?

*When it states, (approximately) "[X effect] affects all Attack Rolls", are Counterattack Rolls affected too?

*Do the Smoke Greanade LOS restrictions also apply to the Range of certain items/abilities (like the Patmos Fragment's Range)?

*Does the "Natural 10 Re-roll" rules ("roll 2 more dice & add the successes") of certain Weapons go into effect every time a Natural 10 is rolled, or just the first time?

**Also, does this mean that no matter how many Natural 10s one rolls, this Weapon's special ability only adds the dice once?

EG.:
I roll 3 natural 10s, but I don't roll 6 more dice & add 'em. I just roll 2 more dice to add.

*What does "you may use this ability once per attack" mean? I thought that you can only Attack once in a round, barring any other special circumstances.


Thanks!
L

LETE said:

*When it states, (approximately) "[X effect] affects all Attack Rolls", are Counterattack Rolls affected too?

I think yes

LETE said:

*Do the Smoke Greanade LOS restrictions also apply to the Range of certain items/abilities (like the Patmos Fragment's Range)?

I'm sorry, I don't understand the word "LOS", so I don't konw what you want to say really, but I try to imagine that: intems aren't affected by smoke if they haven't the Weapon trait: Patmos Amulet (only Occult trait) isn't affected by smoke becouse it isn't a weapon and Hermann don't make an attack with Patmos Amulet, but a mental duel ; It's the same with Sha-Na-Ra.

LETE said:

*Does the "Natural 10 Re-roll" rules ("roll 2 more dice & add the successes") of certain Weapons go into effect every time a Natural 10 is rolled, or just the first time?

**Also, does this mean that no matter how many Natural 10s one rolls, this Weapon's special ability only adds the dice once?

Pratical examples: it's necessary only one natural 10 for activation of Eva's Strafe or Union's Flash-Gun MK1 special effect (and 2 or 3 or more natural 10 are as just one); while Critical Hit ability allows to count 2 successes for each natural 10 (so one nat. 10 counts 2 successes, two nat. 10 count 4 successes, etc...)

When you use an item and you roll natural 10, if the item has a special effect, it is activated always (more times in the same character's activation too)

LETE said:

*What does "you may use this ability once per attack" mean? I thought that you can only Attack once in a round, barring any other special circumstances.

A pratical example: Commando Alpha attack with Flash-Gun MK1 (he has 5 dice at difficulty 5) and he rolls 5, 2, 1, 10, 10.

3 successes totally and there are two natural 10 (but it was enough only one): the special effect of Flash-Gun is activated, so Commando Alpha has 2 additional dice and rolls 10, 5.

Two successes, but this natural 10 don't allows to activate the special ability of Flash-Gun another time.

I hope to be clear.

You are wellcome.

Hiyas!

Perdón, LOS means line of sight, Carlitos. gui%C3%B1o.gif

I know that Sha Na Ra & the Patmos Fragment usage aren't attacks, but duels; I was just asking about their LOS (line of sight) being affected.

Thanks again!

L

Hiyas!

Graciously, the FFGfolks answered all my questions. Here, I will transcribe 'em:


"When it states, (approximately) "[X effect] affects all Attack Rolls", are Counterattack Rolls affected too?

If a character gains a bonus, say, +2 to all attack rolls, or in Zermanns instance he uses his best Combat Ability for all attacks, this also effects counter attacks.

Do the Smoke Greanade LOS restrictions also apply to the Range of certain items/abilities (like the Patmos Fragment's Range)?

Smoke Grenades do not effects attacks that do not require line of Sight. So the Patmos Amulet, or attacks with Doom are unaffected by Smoke.

Does the "Natural 10 Re-roll" rules ("roll 2 more dice & add the successes") of certain Weapons go into effect every time a Natural 10 is rolled, or just the first time?

In the case of a weapon like a Flashgun or Flash Machinegun, if any 10s are rolled, whether you roll one or four 10s, you gain the two additional dice. Not two additional dice for every 10 you roll.

But with an ability like Yula's "Critical Hit" stats that every single Natural 10 rolled generates 2 successes.

What does "you may use this ability once per attack" mean? I thought that you can only Attack once in a round, barring any other special circumstances.

This is for the special circumstances. Counter attacks are one of those circumstances.

If an ability only says once per activation, then the ability would only work during attacks during the character's activation (Counter attacks take place during other characters activation)."

L

Doom is unaffected by Smoke! WOW! I like that.

Thanks.

Well that's new, they better put that in the next FAQ.

I did not know that Doom was unaffected by Smoke.

Thanks for sharing your answers, Lete. That helped me greatly, too.

LETE said:

Hiyas!

Graciously, the FFGfolks answered all my questions. Here, I will transcribe 'em:


"When it states, (approximately) "[X effect] affects all Attack Rolls", are Counterattack Rolls affected too?

If a character gains a bonus, say, +2 to all attack rolls, or in Zermanns instance he uses his best Combat Ability for all attacks, this also effects counter attacks.

Do the Smoke Greanade LOS restrictions also apply to the Range of certain items/abilities (like the Patmos Fragment's Range)?

Smoke Grenades do not effects attacks that do not require line of Sight. So the Patmos Amulet, or attacks with Doom are unaffected by Smoke.

Does the "Natural 10 Re-roll" rules ("roll 2 more dice & add the successes") of certain Weapons go into effect every time a Natural 10 is rolled, or just the first time?

In the case of a weapon like a Flashgun or Flash Machinegun, if any 10s are rolled, whether you roll one or four 10s, you gain the two additional dice. Not two additional dice for every 10 you roll.

But with an ability like Yula's "Critical Hit" stats that every single Natural 10 rolled generates 2 successes.

What does "you may use this ability once per attack" mean? I thought that you can only Attack once in a round, barring any other special circumstances.

This is for the special circumstances. Counter attacks are one of those circumstances.

If an ability only says once per activation, then the ability would only work during attacks during the character's activation (Counter attacks take place during other characters activation)."

L

FFG answer also means that strafe can attack at 2 squares in a smoked path as H2H attacks do not require LOS...

I do not think that this is the intention of the rule. Even Eva can use her melee attacks only on the same path, even if the opponent is two circles away, can´t she? Doors excluded, maybe. So, she suffers the same malus in fog as anybody els, right?

Moebius said:

LETE said:

Hiyas!

Graciously, the FFGfolks answered all my questions. Here, I will transcribe 'em:


"When it states, (approximately) "[X effect] affects all Attack Rolls", are Counterattack Rolls affected too?

If a character gains a bonus, say, +2 to all attack rolls, or in Zermanns instance he uses his best Combat Ability for all attacks, this also effects counter attacks.

Do the Smoke Greanade LOS restrictions also apply to the Range of certain items/abilities (like the Patmos Fragment's Range)?

Smoke Grenades do not effects attacks that do not require line of Sight. So the Patmos Amulet, or attacks with Doom are unaffected by Smoke.

Does the "Natural 10 Re-roll" rules ("roll 2 more dice & add the successes") of certain Weapons go into effect every time a Natural 10 is rolled, or just the first time?

In the case of a weapon like a Flashgun or Flash Machinegun, if any 10s are rolled, whether you roll one or four 10s, you gain the two additional dice. Not two additional dice for every 10 you roll.

But with an ability like Yula's "Critical Hit" stats that every single Natural 10 rolled generates 2 successes.

What does "you may use this ability once per attack" mean? I thought that you can only Attack once in a round, barring any other special circumstances.

This is for the special circumstances. Counter attacks are one of those circumstances.

If an ability only says once per activation, then the ability would only work during attacks during the character's activation (Counter attacks take place during other characters activation)."

L

FFG answer also means that strafe can attack at 2 squares in a smoked path as H2H attacks do not require LOS...

Hand-to-Hand require LOS it's on page 17of the Revised Rules.