Question about dropped cards.

By Alchemist, in Talisman Rules Questions

This seems really basic, but I haven't been able to find anything in the directions about this. When a player drops a card on a space like The Tavern, can another player pick it up if he lands on it? I argue that if a space doesn't say "draw a card" then you just encounter the space and ignore any cards on it.

What about gold? If gold is dropped on a space does the first person landing on it get to scoop it all up? Or is it treated like a bag of gold which has an encounter #5 and should be encountered after battles and psychic combat has been resolved.

If you land on a space that says, "draw one card," but there two "monsters" on it, do you get to choose which you will encounter?

Alchemist said:

This seems really basic, but I haven't been able to find anything in the directions about this. When a player drops a card on a space like The Tavern, can another player pick it up if he lands on it? I argue that if a space doesn't say "draw a card" then you just encounter the space and ignore any cards on it.

If a non-draw space like Tavern has cards on it, when you choose to encounter the space you first encounter all the cards and if your turn hasn't ended, then encounter the space (roll at Tavern).

Alchemist said:

What about gold? If gold is dropped on a space does the first person landing on it get to scoop it all up? Or is it treated like a bag of gold which has an encounter #5 and should be encountered after battles and psychic combat has been resolved.

I think treating bags as #5 encounter is correct.

Alchemist said:

If you land on a space that says, "draw one card," but there two "monsters" on it, do you get to choose which you will encounter?

When you encounter a space with cards, you encounter ALL the cards unless your turn ends prematurely. So you could have an Enemy #2 and #3, if you stand-off or lose to Enemy #2, your turn would end. Also remember that if the Enemies have the same # they combine their Str or Craft.

Alchemist said:

What about gold? If gold is dropped on a space does the first person landing on it get to scoop it all up? Or is it treated like a bag of gold which has an encounter #5 and should be encountered after battles and psychic combat has been resolved.

If you land on a space with gold counters on it, you may take them before you encounter the space or any other cards already on it, unless any enimies are present on the space.

Regards

The Wizard said:

Alchemist said:

What about gold? If gold is dropped on a space does the first person landing on it get to scoop it all up? Or is it treated like a bag of gold which has an encounter #5 and should be encountered after battles and psychic combat has been resolved.

If you land on a space with gold counters on it, you may take them before you encounter the space or any other cards already on it, unless any enimies are present on the space.

Regards

This is not correct. See the Talisman Encounter Sequence chart at the end of the Rulebook. Taking Objects, Followers and/or Gold happens after encountering the space. "Gold" means gold coins.


We were playing a game yesterday and came across this little issue.

A player (me) was toadified and had to ditch all my possessions which included a Porter and a butt load of gold.

Another player then landed on the field and ofcourse took it all.

The issue here is. Is the player picking up the stuff allowed to use to gold he just collected to pay the 1 gold for the porter to come along?

Yes he is. If you land on a space with faceup Followers, Objects and gold coins, you may choose the order in which you encounter the cards and coins.

So in your example, the player decided to pick up the gold coins before he encounters the Porter!

Elliott Eastoe.

The Wizard said:


We were playing a game yesterday and came across this little issue.

A player (me) was toadified and had to ditch all my possessions which included a Porter and a butt load of gold.

Another player then landed on the field and ofcourse took it all.

The issue here is. Is the player picking up the stuff allowed to use to gold he just collected to pay the 1 gold for the porter to come along?

Yes he is. If you land on a space with faceup Followers, Objects and gold coins, you may choose the order in which you encounter the cards and coins.

So in your example, the player decided to pick up the gold coins before he encounters the Porter!

Elliott Eastoe.

It's true what elliot said:, but events, enemies and strangers must be encountered before you encounter the followers or the objects and gold.

Wizard, you said that gold coins are encountered before you encounter the space. that's not true. (gold coins, objects and followers are always encounter number 5 gui%C3%B1o.gif

Velhart said:

Wizard, you said that gold coins are encountered before you encounter the space. that's not true. (gold coins, objects and followers are always encounter number 5 gui%C3%B1o.gif

Been a while since I've played but don't Hag, Poltergeist and Jester have Follower as their keyword and have encounter number 1 gui%C3%B1o.gif ?

Velhart said:

Wizard, you said that gold coins are encountered before you encounter the space. that's not true. (gold coins, objects and followers are always encounter number 5 gui%C3%B1o.gif

Yeah, in fact what I was trying to correct in Wizard's post was that you don't take Gold before you encounter the space or the cards already on it.

Elliot's quoted post clarifies that goodies with number 5 AND Gold coins can be encountered in the order you wish; you will be able to pick a coin and then pay the Porter with the same coin.

Followers with no.1 are "negative" and must be encountered first (this is a small detail that needs consideration).

Yes of course. Must have had a major brain damage gran_risa.gif

Thx guys.

Best regards.

Dam said:

Velhart said:

Wizard, you said that gold coins are encountered before you encounter the space. that's not true. (gold coins, objects and followers are always encounter number 5 gui%C3%B1o.gif

Been a while since I've played but don't Hag, Poltergeist and Jester have Follower as their keyword and have encounter number 1 gui%C3%B1o.gif ?

True, i forgot to explain that happy.gif

- If there are any faceup Adventure cards on the Tavern and you choose to encounter the space:

a.) You must visit the Tavern (without the loss of a turn) before you can pick up any Objects, Gold , Followers or visit any Places on that space.

b. You must encounter any Events, Strangers or Enemies (without a loss of turn) on that space before you can visit the Tavern.

So, in other words the order of the encounter before you can pick up the stuff is:

1.) All Events, Enemies and Strangers must be encountered.

2.) Follow the Instructions on the Space.

3.) Pick up any Objects, Gold, Followers and visit any Place on that space.

4.) Your turn Ends.

Normal rules apply, If you have a stand-off or loose an attack your turn ends and you cannot visit or pick up any items on that space.

Buds said:

- If there are any faceup Adventure cards on the Tavern and you choose to encounter the space:

a.) You must visit the Tavern (without the loss of a turn) before you can pick up any Objects, Gold , Followers or visit any Places on that space.

b. You must encounter any Events, Strangers or Enemies (without a loss of turn) on that space before you can visit the Tavern.

So, in other words the order of the encounter before you can pick up the stuff is:

1.) All Events, Enemies and Strangers must be encountered.

2.) Follow the Instructions on the Space.

3.) Pick up any Objects, Gold, Followers and visit any Place on that space.

4.) Your turn Ends.

Normal rules apply, If you have a stand-off or loose an attack your turn ends and you cannot visit or pick up any items on that space.

Number 2 and 3 are the wrong way round. If the space is a non draw card space:

1) Encounter cards with a number 1, 2, 3, and 4 encounter number (without loss of turn).

2) Encounter cards with a number 5 and 6 (gold coin being treated as a 5).

3) Follow the instructions on the space.

4) Your turn ends.

This is the correct way to play!!! Read the updated FAQ!

Ell.

Hi guys, thanks for the clarification on this! I have always wondered this myself as it has happened a few times in out sessions.

But just to further clarify this. When I follow the below sequence:

1) Encounter cards with a number 1, 2, 3, and 4 encounter number (without loss of turn).

2) Encounter cards with a number 5 and 6 (gold coin being treated as a 5).

3) Follow the instructions on the space.

4) Your turn ends.

If there are lets say 5 gold coins, 3 followers, 3 objects and 1 place I can legally take all the objects, gold and followers after I encountered the place? Granted I can carry them of course.

Best regards

allawi

Sure, is there a reason you feel that isn't legal?

Dam said:

Sure, is there a reason you feel that isn't legal?

I suppose I don't have any specific reason per se, in my group we've always choose to take either a coin, a follower or an object if there are several in a space.

Now that I think about it, we've done this in all areas, even those that says "Draw one card" or Draw two cards"…

Lets say character A was killed or had to drop stuff on a draw card space, and another character B lands on said space. We have always played that character B only takes 1 object, 1 follower or 1 coin, since it says "Draw one Card". If it's on a "Draw 2 Cards", we let the characters pick up 2 etc.

Is this the right way to do it or have we been misinterpreting the rules? Would love to get this answered as this can be a game-changer,

best regards

Allawi

Even if you have 10 cards in a "Draw 1 card" space, a character choosing to encounter that space can pick all 10 cards, assuming he can carry them and/or isn't restricted by his alignment.