Collecting questions for new FAQ

By GMO, in Twilight Imperium 3rd Edition

drzewko said:

Interesting question was asked when we played our first game in Shards of the throne. If fleet has light/wave deflectors may this fleet use The Ghosts of Creuss flag ship as a wormhole and travel to "D" The Creus Gate? or even to the home planet of the ghosts of Creuss? That would be cool.

I agree that would be cool, even cinematically: The enemy are sneaking their way past the exotic Creuss using their own crafted wormhole. Because they're cloaked, the Creuss would not know to deny them the use of the wormhole which would typically be the result. However, I suspect that since the technology "merely" lets you travel through systems containing enemy ships and does not cancel racial abilities, the Creuss would still be able to dampen the use of the wormholes. The Ghosts are still the masters of dimension-folding travel.

But if everyone in your group wants to play that way, go nuts and enjoy! :)

ryolacap said:


Does the Hil Colish "wormhole" count towards purposes needing a wormhole, or is it just for movement? The wording suggests it's not an actual wormhole.

Blessed be the FAQ:

Q: How, exactly, does the Ghosts of Creuss’ Hil Colish work?
A: A system containing Hil Colish is considered to have a “D” Wormhole. While moving, only the destination system (the system activated), not the Flagship’s current system, is considered to have the “D” Wormhole. This system may only be considered a destination system if the Hil Colish will end
its movement in the activated system. The Hil Colish cannot use the “D” Wormhole it generates.

Q: If the Ghosts of Creuss is in the game and another player has Keeper of Gates Secret Objective, does he need to occupy both portions of the Creuss Home System in order to claim it?
A: No. The “D” Wormholes need not be controlled to fulfill the “Keeper of Gates” Secret Objective.

drzewko said:


Interesting question was asked when we played our first game in Shards of the throne. If fleet has light/wave deflectors may this fleet use The Ghosts of Creuss flag ship as a wormhole and travel to "D" The Creus Gate? or even to the home planet of the ghosts of Creuss? That would be cool.

Q: May other races travel through the “D” Wormhole generated by Creuss’ Hil Colish?
A: No. Not even with the Light/Wave Deflectors technology.

I hope that helps. Enjoy the game! =)

In the "Fall of the Empire" scenario, who is eligible for an alliance win if both the Lazax player and the player with the Loyalist objective win? Do the Lazax and the Loyalist both get to share their win with the strongest ally, for a potential of four players winning?

One more question...

How is the Political Intrigue variant handled with regards to Necessary Bureaucracy law? We will be voting on two agendas during each political/assembly action - but do we go through all of the steps (selecting representatives, resolving spies, bargaining) on each agenda, or do we just do the steps once and then immediately vote on both agendas back to back?

I'd say go through the entire process twice.

I agree with Fnoffen, if only because getting locked out of two votes due to a sniped representative is quite the harsh penalty.

Can a player be forced to play an Action Card?

The situation that comes to mind is if there would otherwise be a stalemate between two dreadnaughts with duranium armour.

If one of the participants has a direct hit card, do they have to play it?

The FAQ at the moment indicates situations where a ship cannot be destroyed, it clearly could be in this situation by one of the players, but it would be near impossible to enforce (since the specific action cards are rarely known), and removes choice from players (particularly if they were saving it for an invading warsun or the like).

Political Intrigue question:

When a player reveals a spy with an effect, that is triggered after the voting, such as Sadak N'orrs "Choose a Representative and an outcome. If the chosen Representative does not vote this way, he is killed after voting.", and annother player then reveals annother spy and assasinates this spy, is the effect still triggered after voting?

Xayma said:

Can a player be forced to play an Action Card?

The situation that comes to mind is if there would otherwise be a stalemate between two dreadnaughts with duranium armour.

If one of the participants has a direct hit card, do they have to play it?

The FAQ at the moment indicates situations where a ship cannot be destroyed, it clearly could be in this situation by one of the players, but it would be near impossible to enforce (since the specific action cards are rarely known), and removes choice from players (particularly if they were saving it for an invading warsun or the like).

Good question. There hasn't been an explicit answer on this. However, one thing TI has been pretty good with is keeping to the notion that any player can check up on any other to make sure a play is legitimate just by paying attention. You don't need to depend on an honor system, like you would in a game of "Go Fish" for example. Since the stalemate rule does not have any stated requirement for both players calling the stalemate to reveal all their action cards, any requirement to play any given action card would not be enforceable by the group. Hence, no one should be required to play any action card.

However, both players should be given the opportunity to play any if they want to. This means that combat should continue until: [A] Both players agree that there is a stalemate or There has already been an opportunity to play any such card or retreat in the normal way and both players have not done so.

I'll just post a question here that i previously posted in the permanent FAQ thread.

A wierd combo occured to me when browsing through some of the new cards in Shards of the Throne.

How do the Action Card "A Beacon of Hope" interact with the J.N.S. Hylarim (Jol-Nar Flagship)?

The AC states that all of your natural 10s rolled "in a battle involving your Flagship" counts as 2 hits instead of 1 hit.

The J.N.S. Hylarim states that all natural 10s rolled by that ship counts as 3 hits instead of 1 hit.

Do these abilities stack? And if so do they multiply (3x2=6) or just add up (3+(1extra)=4)? (Or as someone pointed out maybe 3+2=5)

Or do you only take the best result?

MasterDinadan said:

In the "Fall of the Empire" scenario, who is eligible for an alliance win if both the Lazax player and the player with the Loyalist objective win? Do the Lazax and the Loyalist both get to share their win with the strongest ally, for a potential of four players winning?

+1 to this question, i'm pretty worried about 4 of my 6 players winning a game. That sounds weird .