Feel free to add your own!
Feel free to add your own!
Apparently I can't edit my preceding post.
Ignore questions F3 (about Jol Nar's Flagship) and T1 (about Gravity Drive).
Here are some more:
A5. Can Arborec Ground Forces produce while in a fleet, i.e. being carried by a ship?
Can i post in here? is it okay?
well, here goes.
for the Ghosts of Creuss, do both of their 'homeworld' systems have to be occupied by hostile forces to prevent the Creuss player from gaining VPs? or just one? (can someone drop a unit into my empty space wormhole to slow down my objective VP acquisition?)
I'm also very eager to hear an explanation as to the second sentence of the Creuss flagship, since without the second sentence, it makes perfect sense.the second sentence? less so.
Edit: Also, for the racial tech for Creuss, can the necro-tek virus steal/copy "Slave Wormhole Generator"?
my reason for the question is that the Creuss player starts with their own A and B wormholes, the tokens belong to the player, so the necro-tek doesn't have any "extra A or B wormholes" in their possession, ever.
so IF they can copy it, do they
1,waste their attempt? because they have no "extra tokens" that they can control? and are stuck with a tech they cannot use.
2, copy it and get their own set of tokens (perhaps use the distant suns or empty space wormhole tokens)
3, piggyback off the Creuss player's tokens, and basically have joint control over them? (if thats the case, who takes priority? does the necro player place a wormhole first? allowing the creuss player to move it back, and have the final say on where it goes? or does the necro player move a wormhole after the creuss player? essentially allowing the necro player to shut down the creuss players' racial tech for good.)
Finally, when the political law card is played "Closing the wormhole gates" how does that affect the Creuss player for A and B gates? are they also locked out of the wormholes?
kommissar_kai said:
for the Ghosts of Creuss, do both of their 'homeworld' systems have to be occupied by hostile forces to prevent the Creuss player from gaining VPs? or just one? (can someone drop a unit into my empty space wormhole to slow down my objective VP acquisition?)
I also had the question about the Creuss HS problem, but then I remembered the rule on page 14 of the base game rulebook, where it states that one must "control all the planets" in one's Home System. I don't have the game, but I believe the system attached to the board is just a "D" Wormhole. Therefore, if this system is controlled by an opponent, Creuss could still claim objectives; in fact, just as with other players, if the space above their planet was controlled by an enemy, they're okay as long as they still control the planet.
I believe the remainder of your questions have already been posed. Thanks for posting, though.
Hmmm i thought i read all the questions carefully before i posted, sorry.
i do feel that some of the questions you've got on the list 'could' answer my questions, but they might also not..for example, the necro virus question, they could just list it as "stealable" but not explain HOW it would work, and who would take priority when placing worm holes.
i'm eager to hear exact and specific answers to my questions, and put forward potential follow ups, rather than risk an indirect answer that still leaves me with further questions.
i meant no disrespect by essentially re-listing them (of a sorts) i just wanted to be sure that they get in-depth explanations in all the points that my gaming group and i were unsure upon.
I'm glad to see other people posing questions, so no problems there.
But I'm not seeing significant differences with my more general question that wouldn't also answer your more specific questions. I have a feeling that Slave Wormhole Generator is one of those techs they can't copy, so that would obviate the need for additional questions.
But, hey; your question is on the official forum, so it's probably more visible than those from BGG and ti3wiki.org.
Plus, remember you can submit specific rule questions yourself. Go to the More... tab at the top of the page, click on Customer Service, then the Information tab, and finally the Rules Question link.
I will add it to the lists at BGG and ti3wiki
I Just have a couple of questions
Can you choose not to roll combat dice? For example flee from the nekro virus flagship and not roll dice for the first round of combat preventing its destruction.
Would the destruction of a mercenary by the nekro virus count as an instance in which the racial ability to copy techs could be used?
Can a mercenary move from the ground of a planet, and participate in space/ground combat in an adjacent system with a single activation or must there be an activation of the system the merc is in just to move him/her into space?
Does/Should the Nekro virus recieve any reward for finding the lazax survivors?
Could the mercenary that is treated as a pds be used at such on a planet that already contains 2 PDSs?
Yehoshua said:
I Just have a couple of questions
Can you choose not to roll combat dice?
No.
Would the destruction of a mercenary by the nekro virus count as an instance in which the racial ability to copy techs could be used?
Yes. It's an enemy unit.
Can a mercenary move from the ground of a planet, and participate in space/ground combat in an adjacent system with a single activation or must there be an activation of the system the merc is in just to move him/her into space?
Moving from the ground to the air does not cost a movement point. Moving from one system to another does. If the system the merc is currently in isn't already activated, then it can move into the new system. Flip the merc over as it is now in space.
Does/Should the Nekro virus recieve any reward for finding the lazax survivors?
Does the Nekro Virus receive rewards for finding the lazax survivors? Yes.
Should they? No
Could the mercenary that is treated as a pds be used at such on a planet that already contains 2 PDSs?
It says it can be used as a PDS unit, when on a planet. I think it can not be used if there are already two on the planet.
My thoughts in bold.
Replace T1 with this
Will Ghost Flagship always be adjacent to another wormhole when moving, so will it always gets the +1 movement with Gravity Drive Tech?
Straight out of the FAQ:
Q: When are systems containing matching Wormholes
considered adjacent?
A: These systems are considered adjacent for movement
purposes only (including Transfer Actions). This means that
you cannot fire PDS cannons through, annex planets through,
or use the Integrated Economy technology through.
That's a good one; I'll add it.
I haven't kept the above one up-to-date since it seems like some days I can edit it and some days I can't. Maybe it's just my imagination.
But here's how I replaced it on the comprehensive list at BGG:
"T1. Does a ship in the Wormhole Nexus gain +1 movement from Gravity Drive due to being adjacent to the other wormhole systems on the board?
T2. Does a ship in a wormhole system or the Gravity Rift receive the +1 movement bonus from Gravity Drive?"
GMO said:
That's a good one; I'll add it.
I haven't kept the above one up-to-date since it seems like some days I can edit it and some days I can't. Maybe it's just my imagination.
But here's how I replaced it on the comprehensive list at BGG:
"T1. Does a ship in the Wormhole Nexus gain +1 movement from Gravity Drive due to being adjacent to the other wormhole systems on the board?
T2. Does a ship in a wormhole system or the Gravity Rift receive the +1 movement bonus from Gravity Drive?"
It was already ruled somewhere (I think it was posted in the stickied FAQ thread) that systems are not adjacent to themselves, so T2 is unnecessary - the answer is no for Gravity Rift, and the wormhole part of it is answered by T1.
Not that it matters, since you've already sent them in.
Here are a few questions that came up for our group while playing with the new Shattered Thrones.
Mercenaries
Do they gain the benefits of your technology?
Do mercenaries have to spend one of their movement points to move from the ground to the "space" section? or does it happen automaticlly
Promissory Note Cards
When can you give someone a promissory note? is it only during the Assembly 2 Strategy card or can you do it at any time?
I was also wondering after a recent game. Can the Arborec racial tech "bioplasmosis" take over Mecatol Rex (with Guardians and without). I'm assuming that we would just use the same rules that Diplomacy II has that keeps Mecatol Rex safe from Dip II.
Can the Winnu racial tech take over Mecatol when there are Guardian tokens on the planet?
My thoughts are that both the arborec and the winnu would be able to take over mecatal rex with or without guardians. both abilities read discard domain counters.
I'd like to suggest adding my questions about the scenario game from this thread to the FAQ:
http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp?efid=34&efcid=1&efidt=503678
Plus one more-- If you give away all your own Treaty Cards first, is it still somehow possible to receive and hold a Treaty from another player?
~sinker
kommissar_kai said:
for the Ghosts of Creuss, do both of their 'homeworld' systems have to be occupied by hostile forces to prevent the Creuss player from gaining VPs? or just one? (can someone drop a unit into my empty space wormhole to slow down my objective VP acquisition?)
You only need to control the planets in you home system to collect victory points. The space above your planets may belong to anyone. Since the home system tile on the galaxy side has no planets this should resolve the question.
Yehoshua said:
My thoughts are that both the arborec and the winnu would be able to take over mecatal rex with or without guardians. both abilities read discard domain counters.
The reason I brought it up is because in the rulebook, the Custodian counters are never referred to as Domain counters. They are actually their own kind of counter and specifically say that you don't put domain counters on Mecatol Rex when you choose to use the Guardians. They do look a lot and behave a lot like Domain counters, so I can easily see them acting like that. Just wanted a confirmation.
yea...I'm gonna rule that the custodians of Mecatol Rex would always fight if invaded. that fight shouldn't be able to be bipassed
solitear said:
yea...I'm gonna rule that the custodians of Mecatol Rex would always fight if invaded. that fight shouldn't be able to be bipassed
The Voluntary Annexation card lets you take Mecatol without fighting them; these abilities wouldn't be the first to allow you to bypass them.
hmm. good point whats the wording on those two abilities? I don't have the stuff in front of me.
The Custodians and Distant Suns are two independent optional rules. You are allowed to play with one and not the other. For that reason alone I'd say the custodians are not domain counters.
yes, but mecatol rex have not domain counters in distant suns rule, so I think the custodians must be discard.
We still need to have explanation on these flaws though. Let's go FFG, you badly playtested this expansion, we need clarification.
Does the Hil Colish "wormhole" count towards purposes needing a wormhole, or is it just for movement? The wording suggests it's not an actual wormhole.
Interesting question was asked when we played our first game in Shards of the throne. If fleet has light/wave deflectors may this fleet use The Ghosts of Creuss flag ship as a wormhole and travel to "D" The Creus Gate? or even to the home planet of the ghosts of Creuss? That would be cool.