Skill Expertise and checks rolled against you

By roy.altman.7, in WFRP Rules Questions

Hiya

So a Lich cast Treason of Tzeentch at a party member last session. Now the card says that the Lich has to roll INT vs target's Discipline.

The character only had a WP of 3 but also 3 Expertise advancements in Discipline. The Lich had an INT score of 7.

According to the opposed check rules the Lich would suffer only 1 purple die. Do the 3 Expertise advancements help the poor character in anyway? Like black dice to the Lich's check... can't remember if I saw it in the rules. How about fortune dice in WP? Does that hinder the Lich in some way?

Thanks

Roy

Each expertise die counts as a black die in the lich's roll. I wouldn't count the WP fortune die as anything. Id let the player use fortune points if he wanted, to add additional black dice to the roll.

And also, the lich wouldnt actually add any challenge dice to the roll since his Int is more than twice the players Willpower.

Oh, right right.

The lich had a purple die from the card if I'm not mistaken.

Thanks for the tip.

Roy.

As an alternative, our GM has house-ruled that skill training translates to challenge dice rather than misfortune. Statistically it's similar to expertise dice, so it feels more balanced.

I'm not sure how well it works when you have 3 skill trainings, though.