Campaign problem with Dungeon n°38 "Throwing stones"

By Oor-tael, in Descent: Journeys in the Dark

Ok so we've got a real big problem with this one, regarding the boss "Gorg the Crusher" and his special action described as following :

" when adjacent to a rubble [...] can pick it up and throw it instead of attacking normally ."

So, here's the question : is the OL allowed to play "Rage" on Gorg, attack, move, and then pick up a rubble and throw it ?


We've had a real big debate on this, depending on the reading :

- The OL understands it as "Gorg can pick up a rubble and throw it instead of making his attack. Picking up a rubble and throwing it is worth one attack", so with two attacks, he can replace any of them with a throwing. In fact, he could even pick and throw two rubbles if adjacent to two of them.

- I understand it as "Gorg can pick up a rubble and throw it instead of attacking this turn", so after resolving the first attack, he can not decide to convert the second one to a throwing.

Your thoughts ? Any official answer or rule that could help ?

Thank you for your answers

There is no official answer that I am aware of.

My reading is that the leader may replace one of its (normal) attacks with throwing a stone. There is no limit attached to the ability, so he should be able to use it multiple times, even in the same turn.

What... just one answer ?

Thanks Parathion for replying, but... does that mean nobody cares ? Or does everybody agree with you ?

Descent players, I need your "two cents" ! preocupado.gif

I agree with Parathion--

Like many Descent problems--- many more than most people will admit--- this is ambiguous.

My inclination is with Parathion's-- the throwing replaces one attack, and so can be used twice if two attacks are available.

Certainly, at the very least, he can make one normal attack, and then substitute any further attacks with one throw.

There's at least one other dungeon with a similar ability that you might want to compare-- a Sea of Blood dungeon with an Ogre boss and knives that you throw. There may be more.

-pw

I agree as well with Parathion that using Rage on the Throwing Stones Giant and throwing two boulders would be possible (as long as both boulders are legally reachable). Rage is as far as I know limited to 1-2 cards in the deck making it something that won't often come up, even if you buy treachery and add Enraged to your deck (double attack and move), this would still be a rare attack. Since throwing the boulder replaces the attack I don't see why a "Raged" Giant couldn't do two attacks, throw a boulder and attack, or throw a boulder, move and throw a second boulder.

OK then, your answers seem to leave no doubt about how to understand this.

Thanks everybody !