Talent - Better Lucky than Good question

By commoner, in WFRP Rules Questions

Well recently one of my players took this card and there has been some serious debate about how often it can be used. I searched the FAQ and I couldn't find an answer there, so I figured I'd try to get feedback from the community about it.

Anyway, the wording on the card says when a character spends a fortune point on a basic skill check they do not have training in, they gain 2 fortune dice instead of one.

The issue of debate is: what happens if the player spends more than one fortune point on the check? Do they gain two white dice for each fortune spent?

One camp obviously says it should only give one fortune point based on the wording "a fortune point."

However another camp says the description means that "a fortune point" means every time they invest a fortune point, even on the same roll, they gain the two fortune instead of just one.

Both of these made sense to me so we looked at the other cards to try to figure it out, but that wasn't much help. Other cards with similar effects have a clarification on this issue such as 1 fortune point or a player may spend 1 stress to add a fortune point to a check and do not use the same language.

So how are you guys running this card? And, how do you think it should be interpreted?

Thanks and good gaming,

Commoner

I'd run it as +1, doubling the dice seems excessive.

Unless the card is exhausted, it works every time. IE doubling.

For one, fortune points are limited. (You start with 3, and gain back one once in a while, with a cap of 3). Meaning you can at most gain 3 white dice to a check from the talent, and be empty on fortune for a while.

For another, this only applies when you're using it on a check you don't have any yellow dice in. It's not excessive in practice, and only comes up occasionally in my experience.

Since they have no training in the skill I don't see it as too powerful even if putting 3 fortune points in. That's not as good as 3 skill training.

I let them spend as many fortune points as they want at once, with it x2 for each. As GM, I never want to discourage burning up resources fast gran_risa.gif

valvorik said:

I let them spend as many fortune points as they want at once, with it x2 for each. As GM, I never want to discourage burning up resources fast gran_risa.gif

Agreed, when they are out of fortune my players often regeret spending it all earlier. ;)