Multi-Enemies and Alphabetical Order?

By JCHendee, in Talisman

Concerning the draw or encounter of multiple Adventure Cards, rule 15:2 states "If two of the same [order] number are present, handle them in alphabetical order."

I can't remember old rules for 2nd edition, but we usually played that multiple Craft or Strength (not both) based Enemies attacked together and had to be defeated as one if on the same space. Sometimes we limited this by Type (collective Animals, or Dragons, or Monsters, but no mixes). How many others have played similar to this in the past, or do any of you do so in 4th edition? It can make for some nasty challenges in exchange for abundant trophies in one turn.

I was playing with this rule...and I'm still playing ;p

JCHendee said:

Concerning the draw or encounter of multiple Adventure Cards, rule 15:2 states "If two of the same [order] number are present, handle them in alphabetical order."

I can't remember old rules for 2nd edition, but we usually played that multiple Craft or Strength (not both) based Enemies attacked together and had to be defeated as one if on the same space. Sometimes we limited this by Type (collective Animals, or Dragons, or Monsters, but no mixes). How many others have played similar to this in the past, or do any of you do so in 4th edition? It can make for some nasty challenges in exchange for abundant trophies in one turn.

From the Talisman Revised 4th Edition Rules:

Page 7: Adventure Cards must be dealt with in the order determined by their encounter number (the number at the bottom right corner of the card). The lowest number is tackled frst, then the next lowest, and so on. In the case of a tie, the character encounters Adventure Cards in the order they were drawn.

Page 10: If there is more than one Enemy that attacks by Strength or on a space and they have the same encounter number, they fight as one during the battle, adding their Strength together with just one attack roll to make a single, combined attack score.

Cloned for Craft as per Rules: If there is more than one Enemy that attacks by Craft or on a space and they have the same encounter number, they fight as one during the battle, adding their Strength together with just one attack roll to make a single, combined attack score.

Let me know if that's confusing for you, i'll clear it up.

SubElement said:

From the Talisman Revised 4th Edition Rules:

Page 7: Adventure Cards must be dealt with in the order determined by their encounter number (the number at the bottom right corner of the card). The lowest number is tackled frst, then the next lowest, and so on. In the case of a tie, the character encounters Adventure Cards in the order they were drawn.

My problem with this is multiple draw squares + several hour games (which I don't have, but still). It's not nice if you need to recall things from an hour ago as to what was drawn first. I go with Alphabetical sorting.

In cases such as cards that move, eg the Leper, does the Leper count as the newest card of it's number if it moves onto a space?

For example, in my game, the Leper moved onto the Healer. It would make a big difference which card came first if you only had one Life! It's ok to keep track of the order of cards which start in a space by stacking them in the right order but when its something that shifts round the board it's another matter

Geoff

SubElement said:


Let me know if that's confusing for you, i'll clear it up.

It's not about the rule... it's about a house or alternative rule. I should have made that clearer. It's a rule for heavier challenge against multiple Enemies drawn or placed on one space. Instead of wacking them in seperate fights, and having that much greater chance to pick up trophies, you have to earn that extra benefit by fighting them collectively.

Dam said:

My problem with this is multiple draw squares + several hour games (which I don't have, but still). It's not nice if you need to recall things from an hour ago as to what was drawn first. I go with Alphabetical sorting.

You don't need to remember. And even by the rules, it has nothing to do with the order in which cards are drawn. The only ordering that matters is the order "number" on the cards.

OPTION 1: Any Strength based monsters with the same Order number attack collectively / simultaneously; add their strength together as if one opponent. No need for alphabetics. If different order numbers exist among them (not likely), simply add together by same order number, then fight collective opponents by order number, just like the rules say. No need for alphabetics. Do the same separately for Craft based Enemies. If both Craft and Strength exist or are drawn on the same space, Craft attacks first. Again, nothing to remember.

OPTION 2: If separating by Subtypes (Monsters, Animals, Dragons), again look at Order numbers of each Subtype and collect them together. Then proceed as described above by order numbers as groups. If the order numbers of separately Grouped Subtypes are the same, then alphabetize by highest (A to Z) Enemy in each group. Again, nothing to remember. This Option has rarely been used by our group, as it is a bit fussy and complicated.

I once saw the rare occurrence of 2 Dragons on the same space midway through a game (they weren't both drawn there; one of them got moved somehow). Instead of one character fighting them one by one, she had to fight both at the same time. It was ugly for a while, but it kept that Strength 8 Monk (with Magic Objects) from immediately snatching two more Strength points worth of trophies in one tun (but separate battles).

Eventually the Dragons were defeated, but people had to WORK for it. This option isn't for everyone. But with the minimal amount of multi-draw spaces, the situation doesn't come up too often to make the game any longer. The usual hunger for characters trying to get to those multi-draws was then something they had to think. Very nasty surprises could be waiting... and without creating homemade uber-enemies to insert in the deck.

I'm sorry, I am getting a little confused. You're talking like the rule is a house or alternative rule, when it is in fact the way you're meant to handle it?

Are you asking if any other people play it a little differently? Like you play with the different Types getting grouped?

JCHendee said:

You don't need to remember. And even by the rules, it has nothing to do with the order in which cards are drawn. The only ordering that matters is the order "number" on the cards.

Well, what about Hidden Valley and 3 Place cards, all have number 6? Top it off and say they are Marsh, Maze and Shrine. What order do you then encounter those?

It used to be that way in second edition, and so you had tagteams (we used to try and invent silly reasons why the things were working together, like a bear riding a griffin). I understand why they changed it, since it would be easy to encounter stuff you just couldn't handle early on: this new way is just one more thing to help speed things up.

I guess I can see the little snag that has evolved from the previous posts.

This realy boils down to 2 types of cards that can be a bit of a pickle. Strangers and places, becasue some are permanent cards that remain on the board, and can be on the same location from being drawn, moved, or self moved.

If you Draw multiple places(or strangers) from the deck, that is where you take them in the order drawn.

I ddi not see what happens in the rules when cards are moved onto the same location, as you dont know which were first. It boils down to these choces.

A)Take them alphabeticaly

B)Player can chose which to encounter first, as neither card was drawn.

C)encouter in the order that the cards appeard into the space. (keep them stacked accordingly)

Now we just have to find a spot in the rule book to clarify this, or make a house rule. Perhapse it will be in a FAQ

SubElement said:

From the Talisman Revised 4th Edition Rules:

Page 10: If there is more than one Enemy that attacks by Strength or on a space and they have the same encounter number, they fight as one during the battle, adding their Strength together with just one attack roll to make a single, combined attack score.

If I fight against 2 Orcs, they add theyr Strenght togheter and roll 1 attack die:

If I win, can I take both the 2 Orcs as trophy? I think thath's the right way...

but what about If I lose... do I have to lose 1 life or 2 lives?

Yes, when you fight two Enemies together and you win the Battle/Psychic Combat, you defeat them both and get to keep them both as trophies. If you lose, you only lose ONE life.

talismanisland said:

Yes, when you fight two Enemies together and you win the Battle/Psychic Combat, you defeat them both and get to keep them both as trophies. If you lose, you only lose ONE life.

thank you so much, Talismanisland! happy.gif

I see what's going on now for non-Enemy cards ... and in some situations I can see the problem people are talking about. Probably why the alphabetical "patch" was created at some time, since order number wouldn't always be enough.

Overall, having played 2nd edition in the past with both [1] separate fights with multi-Enemies (we tried this over ten years ago) and [2] collective single fight against multi-Enemies, there was little to no difference in game length. The number of times multi-Enemies come up is not that large. Of course this was in the days of Strength being the only attribute one could build up. And occasionally there were some Spell tactics used by Craft based characters to stack up Enemies to slow down the Strength based characters.

I can see Hallow where your putting them in the order they were drawn on the space and trying to keep them in said order would be a good way to go.... LOL how about 2 dragons...Oye!!! That would be a tough nut to crack indeed.

In my last game we had a doppleganger and a dragon together!

Cidervampire said:

In cases such as cards that move, eg the Leper, does the Leper count as the newest card of it's number if it moves onto a space?

For example, in my game, the Leper moved onto the Healer. It would make a big difference which card came first if you only had one Life! It's ok to keep track of the order of cards which start in a space by stacking them in the right order but when its something that shifts round the board it's another matter

Geoff

The healer is first because he is already laying there, after that you encounter the Leper as card number 2

Cidervampire said:

In my last game we had a doppleganger and a dragon together!

Happened here too and it was on Runes space (that give +2 to enemies) llorando.gif

when more places are on same space (and of course have the same priority number) we usually give freedom to who meet it to decide the order (after meeting enemies or other cards with lower priority order). Too difficult remember which order it was drawed but we use this rule for events.

Andraax said:

Happened here too and it was on Runes space (that give +2 to enemies) llorando.gif

when more places are on same space (and of course have the same priority number) we usually give freedom to who meet it to decide the order (after meeting enemies or other cards with lower priority order). Too difficult remember which order it was drawed but we use this rule for events.

I don't allow choosing, I enforce alphabetical resolving order. If that Carnival (effectively a moving Tavern) causes you to pass out drunk in the corner, you don't get to sip from the Magic Stream. If a place shares a space with another space, you have to resolve the first and hope your turn didn't end/no teleport to a new space, then tackle the second place.

Dam said:

Andraax said:

Happened here too and it was on Runes space (that give +2 to enemies) llorando.gif

when more places are on same space (and of course have the same priority number) we usually give freedom to who meet it to decide the order (after meeting enemies or other cards with lower priority order). Too difficult remember which order it was drawed but we use this rule for events.

I don't allow choosing, I enforce alphabetical resolving order. If that Carnival (effectively a moving Tavern) causes you to pass out drunk in the corner, you don't get to sip from the Magic Stream. If a place shares a space with another space, you have to resolve the first and hope your turn didn't end/no teleport to a new space, then tackle the second place.

I do it in the order i have drew them and on number gui%C3%B1o.gif