Can the Thief steal an object that he cannot possess?

By Rianane, in Talisman Rules Questions

If the Thief with a good alignment lands on another character who posesses the Runesword, can the Thief steal the Runesword and drop it on immediately on the space?

Rianane said:

If the Thief with a good alignment lands on another character who posesses the Runesword, can the Thief steal the Runesword and drop it on immediately on the space?

No, he can't. This is stated in the Rulebook at page 16, at paragraph "Having and Using Objects":

Characters are not permitted to take cards that they may not
have. For example, if a character may not have Followers, he
may not take one by casting the Mesmerism Spell on another
character.

Again I ask a question that is answered in the rules? My embarrasment is profound.

Rianane said:

Again I ask a question that is answered in the rules? My embarrasment is profound.

Don“t worry about it. I think we all have been there happy.gif

Rianane said:

Again I ask a question that is answered in the rules? My embarrasment is profound.

Nevermind my friend. Talisman Rulebook is well done, but there are several spot rules hidden inside the paragraphs.

If it is a question about how an ability works or a how to treat a board space, usually it is addressed in the Rulebook. If it is a card combination effect, it might be covered by the FAQs. What's not in the Rulebook/FAQ might have received an official or semi-official answer here; try to search this forum or just ask a question here as you already did.

No problem since this forum right now is dead; we're waiting for the next expansion but it doesn't come.