Fatigue and guarding order

By littlegum, in Descent: Journeys in the Dark

During the guard can a hero to use fatigue tokens? If yes, what are the cases where can a hero to use fatigue tokens?

Thanks for your helping and sorry for my bad english ^_^

littlegum said:

During the guard can a hero to use fatigue tokens? If yes, what are the cases where can a hero to use fatigue tokens?

A hero cannot spend fatigue during a guard order. Fatigue may only be spent during the hero's turn and although a guard order allow the hero to attack, it is still the Overlord's turn when that attack happens.

As an aside, please note that a Guard order may only be used during the Overlord's turn. You cannot use a guard to interrupt another hero.

Steve-O said:

littlegum said:

During the guard can a hero to use fatigue tokens? If yes, what are the cases where can a hero to use fatigue tokens?

A hero cannot spend fatigue during a guard order. Fatigue may only be spent during the hero's turn and although a guard order allow the hero to attack, it is still the Overlord's turn when that attack happens.

Then, during the guard order, the heroes cannot use the hero ability (as Silhouette or others) or upgrading power dices (in Road to Legend )?

Hi Steve,

sorry but what you said generated a little confusion in my mind. There is a point in the FAQ suggesting the opposite (pag. 8):

Q: When making an attack with the Guard order, can a hero use abilities such as Cleave that grant extra attacks? What about other special abilities?
A: When making a Guard attack, a hero retains access to all appropriate special abilities unless otherwise indicated. This includes abilities such as Cleave, Quick Casting, and Rapid Fire that may grant an extra attack.

For example, Quick Casting requires clearly to spend two Fatigue in order to do a second attack. Besides, reading the description of the Guard order, it's stated that the attack should be made "following all the normal rules for line of sight and attacking". Thus I don't see anything against spending Fatigue to add power dice or similar stuff. I'd say you're not allowed to spend Fatigue to gain Movement points. Is there anything I'm missing?

There are several cases in which fatigue can be spent during a Guard order - upgrading or adding power dice, triggering the skills already mentioned and the like.

It is not allowed, however, to convert fatigue to MP and spending these, since this is only allowed during the heros own turn.

The most common way for heroes to spend fatigue is for movement points, which can only be done during the hero's turn. Various posters have asked, from time to time, whether you can spend fatigue to MOVE during a Guard order, and the answer is no. That's probably what Steve-O was thinking of.

However, other ways of spending fatigue have no such restriction. As Parathion says, you can still spend fatigue to add power dice to a Guard attack, as well as spending it on any skills or other abilities that are contextually appropriate, such as Cleaving, Rapid Fire, or Quick Casting.

Yeah, these were also my thoughts. Thank you guys for confirmation!

Antistone said:

The most common way for heroes to spend fatigue is for movement points, which can only be done during the hero's turn. Various posters have asked, from time to time, whether you can spend fatigue to MOVE during a Guard order, and the answer is no. That's probably what Steve-O was thinking of.

That is correct, my bad.

One question that arises in my head is this: Are you allowed to spend a fatigue to get an MP to spend on drinking a potion? And if so: Will that that potion count towards the one potion / turn limit on the hero turn before or after?

Strike my previous post. The answer was posted above...