Am I correct in thinking that monsters placed in the outskirts have no means of entering Arkham (unless there's maybe some special encounter/mythos card which says to do so)? And the only way to eliminate them once they're there is to close a corresponding-symboled gate?
This rule came as a bit of a surprise because we had been operating under the assumption that outskirts monsters come on the board when there are Arkham monster spaces available and their movement symbol comes up, at which point they appear on gates, in the sky or in aquatic areas. I understand that from a game mechanics perspective the outskirts are designed to act as a kind of overspill which the players cannot afford to let fill up and so are compelled to fight rather than evade, but it also seems illogical that monsters wouldn't eventually wander into town to attack when able.