Voice of Command

By deashira, in Warhammer Invasion Rules Questions

The text on Voice of Command reads:

Action : Until the end of the turn, when you play a tactic, you may spend 1 resource to return it to its owner's hand at the end of the turn.

Can you pay one when you play Voice of Command to return it to your hand at the end of your turn?

RM

Since the effect that lets you pay extra is created after playing VoC, I wouldn't suppose so.

I hope not :D

Since the effect isn't in play until after the card is played i guess it can't trigger the effect since the trigger condition is "when played". It isn't like Greatswords since their trigger is "After" a unit enters play.

I think you cannot call back "Voice of Command" because of the steps you play a tactic :

- You spend X ressources as a cost for the tactic you will play.

- You reveal the X-cost tactic you want to play, then you put it in your discard pile.

- Its actions becomes part of the chain among other effects.

Now, let's suppore you played "Voice of Command" before in the same turn, I think it would be :

- You spend X+1 ressources as a cost for the tactic you will play AND for the "Voice of Command" ability.

- You reveal the X-cost tactic you want to play ...

So before showing "Voice of Command" you cannot pay the extra ressource as its effect is not available at the moment.

Budmilka has it right, just one minor correction. When you play a card, it doesn't go into play or into your discard pile until it resolves. After you have paid for it and chosen targets, but before it resolves, it is neither in play nor in your hand or discard. You can think of it as being in the "chain" zone.

Hum... I read the Rules summary and saw the question about "Voice of Command". It says the card will be errated and you may now wait until the end of the turn to pay that ressource to retrieve "Voice of Command".

So I guess now it works on itself.

are you absolutly sure about that ?

Budmilka_fr said:

Hum... I read the Rules summary and saw the question about "Voice of Command". It says the card will be errated and you may now wait until the end of the turn to pay that ressource to retrieve "Voice of Command".

So I guess now it works on itself.

No, the wording that Lukas gave is confusing you I think. You still have to spend the resource as you play the tactic, you just get to return the card to your hand at the end of the turn if its still in your discard at that point. If you paid the resources at the end of the turn, you'd have to move "at the end of the turn" to the beginning of the sentence like, "Action: Until the end of the turn, when you play a tactic, at the end of the turn you may spend 1 resource to return it from your discard pile to your hand."

Your original answer in this thread is still correct, even in light of the upcoming errata for it.

Ok thanks, now I understand. Gotta work on my english ^^

No thanks, you can keep the erratum. lengua.gif

Hmm.... I'm still not entirely convinced. Would be nice to hear an official statement about this.

Runenstahl said:

Hmm.... I'm still not entirely convinced. Would be nice to hear an official statement about this.

Has anyone heard anything yet?

in the last faqs tells, voice of comand, return the tactic from you discard pile.

bruce_wayne said:

in the last faqs tells, voice of comand, return the tactic from you discard pile.

So you can use the ability of VoC on itself?

No, you have to pay the 1 extra resource as you are playing the Tactic. Once VoA's effect is active, it is already played, and its too late to pay the 1 for it. If you played 2 VoAs in a turn, you could pay 1 extra on the 2nd one to retrieve it at the end of the turn.