Can a hero throw power dice (or full set of attack dice, including weapon dice) one by one?
If so, I suppose that Karnon could throw 3 power dice and, later, spend 2 fatigue tokens to upgrade the remaining 2 dice to silver. Is it possible?
Can a hero throw power dice (or full set of attack dice, including weapon dice) one by one?
If so, I suppose that Karnon could throw 3 power dice and, later, spend 2 fatigue tokens to upgrade the remaining 2 dice to silver. Is it possible?
Basic rules, pg. 10: If the attacker is a hero, the dice
the player rolls are listed on the item card for the
weapon the hero is using. In addition, the hero
may
add
one or more of the black power dice to his roll, depending
on his traits.
Attack types, pg. 11: When a hero makes a
melee attack, he adds a number of power dice to his roll
equal to his melee trait.
Whatever that means for an English native speaker - pg. 10 seems to indicate a choice, while pg. 11 does not.
gran_orco said:
Can a hero throw power dice (or full set of attack dice, including weapon dice) one by one?
If so, I suppose that Karnon could throw 3 power dice and, later, spend 2 fatigue tokens to upgrade the remaining 2 dice to silver. Is it possible?
Karnon has 5 melee trait dice naturally, right? My copy of Descent is currently packed up for moving so I don't have access to check it myself.
The rules for spending fatigue to gain extra dice are quite clear in that the hero may observe the initial roll before deciding to add more. It's a little bit less clear in the case of a hero who already rolls all 5 power dice naturally. Personally, I would be inclined to allow the player to do as you suggest. It's in keeping with the spirit of the rule about adding dice with fatigue. As long as he makes all desired upgrades to each individual power die before he rolls it, of course.
In fact, if you force him to roll his "natural" 5 power dice all at once you're effectively gimping Karnon by denying him a tactical advantage other heroes normally have. If you feel Karnon is too powerful, this might be an acceptable nerf house rule for your group, but otherwise I'd cite this as grounds to support my position above.
I wouldn't have any problem with any other hero trying the same thing with his natural power dice either, for what that's worth. Again, as long as he spends all fatigue on a single die before he rolls that die, which is in keeping with RtL's rules for upgrading dice with fatigue.
Steve-O said:
gran_orco said:
Can a hero throw power dice (or full set of attack dice, including weapon dice) one by one?
If so, I suppose that Karnon could throw 3 power dice and, later, spend 2 fatigue tokens to upgrade the remaining 2 dice to silver. Is it possible?
Karnon has 5 melee trait dice naturally, right? My copy of Descent is currently packed up for moving so I don't have access to check it myself.
The rules for spending fatigue to gain extra dice are quite clear in that the hero may observe the initial roll before deciding to add more. It's a little bit less clear in the case of a hero who already rolls all 5 power dice naturally. Personally, I would be inclined to allow the player to do as you suggest. It's in keeping with the spirit of the rule about adding dice with fatigue. As long as he makes all desired upgrades to each individual power die before he rolls it, of course.
In fact, if you force him to roll his "natural" 5 power dice all at once you're effectively gimping Karnon by denying him a tactical advantage other heroes normally have. If you feel Karnon is too powerful, this might be an acceptable nerf house rule for your group, but otherwise I'd cite this as grounds to support my position above.
I wouldn't have any problem with any other hero trying the same thing with his natural power dice either, for what that's worth. Again, as long as he spends all fatigue on a single die before he rolls that die, which is in keeping with RtL's rules for upgrading dice with fatigue.
Its not a gimp, nor a house rule to nerf it. Its a natural disadvantage that Karnon has in ACs and playing the RAW. It's only fair - he loses some of his natural disadvantage in having fewer skills.
As quoted earlier on pg11, there is no choice in rolling the trait dice. You have to roll that number. Alternately on pg 10 you could chose to roll less, but you don't get the one you chose not to roll 'back' later for free.
There is also only one 'attack roll'. You can roll the trait dice on at a time if you wish, but it serves no purpose other than adding tension. The attack roll is still a single entity and you need to complete the roll before doing anything else.
Look at your own wording.
"..the hero may observe the initial roll before deciding to add more. ..."
That initial roll includes
all
the appropriate number of trait dice, not just some of them.
There is actually a school of thought that you cannot upgrade dice at all (with fatigue) before they are thrown. Note that adding dice is technically only possible after the roll and, while I personally don't agree with the parsing involved, it has been argued that upgrading dice is only an extension of the adding rule (ie only added dice may be upgraded, with fatigue). Now
there
is a nerf for Karnon.
Corbon said:
That seems very odd, given that p.24 of RTL states that you can upgrade an unrolled powerdie at any time with fatigue as long as it hasn't been rolled already.
Grubsnik said:
Corbon said:
That seems very odd, given that p.24 of RTL states that you can upgrade an unrolled powerdie at any time with fatigue as long as it hasn't been rolled already.
It is not true. Page 24 states that "a hero can do this as often as he likes " , not at any time . Later, the sentence continues with "for example, after making an attack roll , a hero could spend 3 fatigue to add an extra gold die to the attack"
The full sentence is actually:
A hero can do this as often as he likes, as long as a given
power die is upgraded before being rolled.
But I can see how you could choose to interpret that in a different way.