Some noobish questions

By Julia, in Descent: Journeys in the Dark

Hi folks,


some games under my belt now, and I have some rule questions I hope you could help me with (and sorry, probably you've all already heard these questions before). Here we go:


a) Hordes of the things: does this power stack? I mean, may I have both cards in play and whenever I reveal a new area apply the effects of both cards?


b) can Brilliant commander upgrade a monster spawned via Hordes of the things?


c) there is a point in the Command rules I don't understand (maybe; sorry, English is not my native tongue): "A figure with Command adds 1 to the damage and range of all attacks made by friendly figures within three spaces of it ( including itself , and ignoring line of sight)". The "including itself" part is a little difficult to understand for me. I've always thought that Command interests all figures within three spaces from the figure with Command (a la "Blast 3"), but the "including itself" thing makes me think that I have to count as '1' the space occupied by the figure (thus Command interests an area a la "Blast 2"). Is this a Blast 3 or a Blast 2 (in terms of area of effect)? Or the "including itself" refers even to the attacks made by the figure with the Command ability?


Thank you all for your help!


JULIA

a.) Power cards should stack. (opposite is not stated)

b.) I seem to remember, that if something triggers at the same time, you can decide which one occurs first. So you should be able to upgrade a Horde of Things monster.

c.) Command reaches 3 spaces. So its Blast 3 or Range 3. Note that Command (and similar abilities) work like "placing a square template of 2xrange + center field" and not by calculating range/movement. (FAQ page 7)

Julia said:

a) Hordes of the things: does this power stack? I mean, may I have both cards in play and whenever I reveal a new area apply the effects of both cards?

Yes.

Julia said:

b) can Brilliant commander upgrade a monster spawned via Hordes of the things?

I would be inclined to say no, personally, but there's no explicit ruling against it. That's just a gut reaction, really.

Julia said:

c) there is a point in the Command rules I don't understand (maybe; sorry, English is not my native tongue): "A figure with Command adds 1 to the damage and range of all attacks made by friendly figures within three spaces of it ( including itself , and ignoring line of sight)".

The effect is "blast 3." When the card says "including itself" it means the figure with Command also gains the benefit of his own Command ability.

Extraterrestrial, Steve-O, thank you for help!

And thank you for reminding me of the FAQ. I still have to go through all of them. I have another couple of questions, but I'll try to search for an answer in the FAQs!

b) The two effects have the same trigger. They are under control of the OL, but in almost all cases they are triggered in a hero´s turn - thus it is a bit unclear who gets to choose the order of resolution.

The question is in the upcoming FAQ (whenever it will come up...).

Parathion said:

b) The two effects have the same trigger. They are under control of the OL, but in almost all cases they are triggered in a hero´s turn - thus it is a bit unclear who gets to choose the order of resolution.

The question is in the upcoming FAQ (whenever it will come up...).

Really? good to know sooner or later an official answer will be given! As for now... since there is nothing against the fact you could do this, I think I'll choose to be a little nastier with my players ::laughter::

I hope Descent does not suffer of the same "FAQ-related" problems Arkham has...

Julia said:

I hope Descent does not suffer of the same "FAQ-related" problems Arkham has...

I think it already has. And then some.

Hopefully all that will be cleared up in the future though.

Steve-O said:

I think it already has. And then some.

Hopefully all that will be cleared up in the future though.

Fingers crossed!

Sorry folks,

another silly question about the Guard order. In the order's description it's stated that you're allowed do discard the order to interrupt the OL's turn and perform an attack. I've always considered this as "monster 1 is trying to stomp on you, but you can discard the order, make an attack and kill it before it's too late". Reading carefully the order description, I don't see anything against this interpretation: "monster 1 is trying to stompo on you, but you can discard the order and make an attack ON MONSTER TWO, which hasn't been activated yet". Am I correct? In this case, the Guard order is really powerfull, since the OL can't make crappy monsters to move early in order to protect from guard the strongest ones!

Thank you very much

JULIA

Julia said:

Sorry folks,

another silly question about the Guard order. In the order's description it's stated that you're allowed do discard the order to interrupt the OL's turn and perform an attack. I've always considered this as "monster 1 is trying to stomp on you, but you can discard the order, make an attack and kill it before it's too late". Reading carefully the order description, I don't see anything against this interpretation: "monster 1 is trying to stompo on you, but you can discard the order and make an attack ON MONSTER TWO, which hasn't been activated yet". Am I correct? In this case, the Guard order is really powerfull, since the OL can't make crappy monsters to move early in order to protect from guard the strongest ones!

Thank you very much

JULIA

It is more powerful than that.
The hero can activate/discard the guard order at any time during the OL's turn (even before the OL draws cards for example) and there is no restriction on the attack - the hero can attack any monster, another hero, something else attackable (eg quest specific thing) or even an empty space (for no effect).

But remember that a guard order is lost if the guarding hero suffers damage. So some of those crappy monsters can threaten to attack, and if even one point of damage gets through the guard is wasted - so a smart hero will often use it earlier anyway.

Corbon said:

It is more powerful than that.
The hero can activate/discard the guard order at any time during the OL's turn (even before the OL draws cards for example) and there is no restriction on the attack - the hero can attack any monster, another hero, something else attackable (eg quest specific thing) or even an empty space (for no effect).

But remember that a guard order is lost if the guarding hero suffers damage. So some of those crappy monsters can threaten to attack, and if even one point of damage gets through the guard is wasted - so a smart hero will often use it earlier anyway.

Yeah, Corbon, I got the idea, thank yoU! Man, it's terrific. Especially if you have something like Quick casting or the equivalent for melee (can't remember the name of the skill, just too few games done now to remember all names, sorry).

If I may ask, there is a point in the FAQ (pag. 4) which I do not understand at all:

Q: When a hero is moved into a space at the end of a Knockback attack, does the figure have to pay any cost or penalties for that space?
A: Yes.

I get the point about penalties (maybe: in my mind is something like "there is a pit and you fall into the pit") but what about costs? I'm rather confused. It's something related to interaction with expansion sets? I'm still playing the core game

Julia said:

Q: When a hero is moved into a space at the end of a Knockback attack, does the figure have to pay any cost or penalties for that space?
A: Yes.

I get the point about penalties (maybe: in my mind is something like "there is a pit and you fall into the pit") but what about costs? I'm rather confused. It's something related to interaction with expansion sets? I'm still playing the core game

Yeah, the only "cost" any terrain applies is movement, generally. I can't think of any terrain that saps fatigue from entering it (Corrupted terrain, maybe? It's been so long since I've seen that stuff that I forget exactly what it does.) Losing wounds gets lumped under "penalty" in my books. Knockback, I'm fairly sure, doesn't care about extra MP costs of terrain, even in the last space you get moved to. I would file this under "poorly worded question" and just take cost and penalty to be synonyms.

Steve-O said:

Yeah, the only "cost" any terrain applies is movement, generally. I can't think of any terrain that saps fatigue from entering it (Corrupted terrain, maybe? It's been so long since I've seen that stuff that I forget exactly what it does.) Losing wounds gets lumped under "penalty" in my books. Knockback, I'm fairly sure, doesn't care about extra MP costs of terrain, even in the last space you get moved to. I would file this under "poorly worded question" and just take cost and penalty to be synonyms.

Hmm. Ok. I haven't found terrains with costs now, so probably everything will be clearer when I find some of those. Ok for the penalties. Thx for answering, Steve-O!