Corrupting Wilhelm

By HappyDD, in Warhammer Invasion Rules Questions

This seems like something that MUST have been asked by now, but after searching the forums and checking the FAQ I am still unsure about this one:

If I control Wilhelm of the Osterknacht and declare him as an attacker I will be able to shift a unit from the defending zone to any zone of my choice, here's the exact Wilhelm card text:

Action: When this unit attacks, move one unit from the defending Zone to another Zone controlled by the same player.

Ok, so let's say I declare Wilhelm as an attacker. There is then an action window after I declare attackers where I presume I can use his action "When this unit attacks...", so I try to enact the movement. My opponent plays Seduced by Darkness which reads "Action: Corrupt one target unit" in response to my attempt to use the action. What we agreed on was that the corruption of Wilhelm negates the use of his action since he is no longer attacking, as corrupted units cannot be attacking. But I could see it being interpreted as Wilhelm being declared as an attacker is equivalent to "When this unit attacks..." To be an attacker, tautologically, one must attack. In this case, corrupting him would result in him not dealing damage, but would still allow him to use his unit-moving ability.

Crap, just found this on Deckbox:

Q. If my unit is already attacking or defending and becomes corrupted, what happens?
A. Nothing, it was already chosen as an attacker or defender (rulebook, p17).

I really wish there was an edit option on these forums... Feeling shame. sad.gif

Of course your opponent could play 'Seduced by Darkness' and corrupt Wilhelm during the action window between declaring the zone you are attacking and declaring the units that are attacking to corrupt him.

In that particular situation, I think he wanted to lure me into a situation where suddenly Wilhelm isn't attacking and the guys he is attacking with get slaughtered by the defenders, so he wanted to wait until I declared everybody and then remove Wilhelm with the corruption.

Point taken on the timing though, in my playgroup we get sloppy with the actual battle declaration rules and it results in situations where someone would have done something if we had followed proper order.

HappyDD said:

Crap, just found this on Deckbox:

Q. If my unit is already attacking or defending and becomes corrupted, what happens?
A. Nothing, it was already chosen as an attacker or defender (rulebook, p17).

I really wish there was an edit option on these forums... Feeling shame. sad.gif

Hey, at least you went and looked for it on Deckbox :)

My play group has the same problem. We try to get into the habit of "i attack your kingdom" reply with "what do you attack with" "i attack with X" But people often jump the gun and just say "I'm attacking your kingdom with everything" Then we have to back everything up and let the defending player play his actions, which often then results in the attacking player changing his attack plan and attacking with no one.

its very simple.

if you want a unit not to be an attacker you have to corrupt it after the declaration of the zone of attack .

After the declare attackers phase even if you corrupt it , the unit will attack.