Start of your turn spells.

By BenBenitrio, in Talisman Rules Questions

If you draw a spell that says 'cast at the start of your turn' at the start of your turn, can you still cast it?

example: Warlock turn starts, he draws 3 spells. One of those spells says cast at the start of your turn. Can he cast this spell the same turn he drew it, or does he have to wait a turn?

BenBenitrio said:

If you draw a spell that says 'cast at the start of your turn' at the start of your turn, can you still cast it?

example: Warlock turn starts, he draws 3 spells. One of those spells says cast at the start of your turn. Can he cast this spell the same turn he drew it, or does he have to wait a turn?

Yes you can still cast it. It is the same question as the Sage Character on page 3 of the FAQ (see link below) - it also applies to Spells that state they are cast at the Start of a player's turn:

www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_minisite_sec.asp

This has also been ratified by John Goodenough. The start of a player's turn is a period in time from when play passes to that player up until he moves his character (see "Cast at the start of your turn, before you move" Spells - yes you may roll the dice for movement before casting these Spells).

Ell.

BenBenitrio said:

If you draw a spell that says 'cast at the start of your turn' at the start of your turn, can you still cast it?

example: Warlock turn starts, he draws 3 spells. One of those spells says cast at the start of your turn. Can he cast this spell the same turn he drew it, or does he have to wait a turn?

If a Character didn't roll the die for movement, he's still in the "start of turn" phase. He can immediately cast the Spell(s) with "start of a Character's turn" timing.

EDIT: Ok, talismanamsilat gave the answer. It appears I've missed the clarification about the "start of turn" phase. You can roll the die for movement and still be able to cast "start of turn" Spells. Interesting

The_Warlock said:

BenBenitrio said:

If you draw a spell that says 'cast at the start of your turn' at the start of your turn, can you still cast it?

example: Warlock turn starts, he draws 3 spells. One of those spells says cast at the start of your turn. Can he cast this spell the same turn he drew it, or does he have to wait a turn?

If a Character didn't roll the die for movement, he's still in the "start of turn" phase. He can immediately cast the Spell(s) with "start of a Character's turn" timing.

Still in "start of turn" phase after you roll the dice for movement, for the purposes of "Cast at start of your turn, before you move" Spells!

Ell.

What about on a character who can draw spells at the start of a turn... Can they cast a start of the turn spell and then still draw spells with their ability after?

Jedirie said:

What about on a character who can draw spells at the start of a turn... Can they cast a start of the turn spell and then still draw spells with their ability after?

No,

The ability comes first, and then the spells.