Can a character commit to a quest twice?

By BudSinigaglio, in The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game

Aragorn commits to a quest, readies himself, and decides to commit (by exhausting) again. When the quest is resolved, it makes sense that he just contributes his +2 will power once. Or does he count for +2 & +2 again? It seems a bit much to count him twice. Eowyn can really get crazy if she finds a way to ready herself in the "commiting to a quest" part of the quest phase.

Help please.

From my understanding of the rules, the answer is no. Theoretically you could create an infinite loop and stand him to commit him over and over. Once a character is committed, even if he readies, he's still committed.

You only count his willpower once. The point of readying is that he's then able to attack or defend come the engagement phase.

When you commit your characters to a quest, you tap all of them at the same time and then you resolve the responses.

When Aragorn readies, the step "tap all the characters you commit to the quest" is over so he can't be part of it another time.

I think technically you COULD commit him twice (or more), but with no effect, because in the end you "compare the combined willpower strength of all committed CHARACTERS " (quote from the rules). So it's willpower per character, not per "commitment".

Thanks folks for your help on that. We had been doing it wrong. Near the end of our game Eowyn exhausted twice for +6 & +6 will power and Gorn exhausted thrice for +4 +4 & +4 (they both had attachments that were boosting their abilities). I then realized that 24 quest points from 2 heroes was probably breaking some rule.