use equipment action

By ClanNatioy2, in Tannhauser

I'm a little confused by the use equipment action. Most of the equipment says when it requires an action to use but in the example for use equipment it shows Eva Kramer discarding her Iron cross first class token as an action. But in the Iron cross first class' description it just says to discard the token it never says it requires an action to discard.

So I guess my question is if a token requires you to discard it does it also require an action even if the description does not explicitly say it?

I think FFG addressed this in the FAQ, and the rulling was the token specific rule over-rides the general rules.

So if it doesn't say use an action you don't need to.

The FAQ is on the Tannhauser support page.

Out of time, gotta' go...

Miah999 said:

I think FFG addressed this in the FAQ, and the rulling was the token specific rule over-rides the general rules.

So if it doesn't say use an action you don't need to.

The FAQ is on the Tannhauser support page.

Out of time, gotta' go...

I checked the FAQ and couldn't find the answer on either of it's two pages

Hmmm I pretty sure there was a rulling on this, it must be posted here on the forum somewhere. I'll look for it.

I've went through the forum about 10 pages or so, and this question has been asked several times, and while I still couldn't find the original and probably the official answer, the consensus is that any "discarding" tokens do not require an action.

If you want you can ask FFG and they give you the official answer, which hopefuly hasn't changed.

Miah999 said:

I've went through the forum about 10 pages or so, and this question has been asked several times, and while I still couldn't find the original and probably the official answer, the consensus is that any "discarding" tokens do not require an action.

If you want you can ask FFG and they give you the official answer, which hopefuly hasn't changed.

Oh wow sorry to put you to work with such a common question. I probably should have looked through the forum but it was really bothering me that some tokens said they required an action and the one token they used in the example didn't say it required an action. I'm not sure how ffg missed that one. Anyway thanks for all the help I really appreciate it.

This is an old question, I asked it to Andrew Meredith (FGG Helps) and he said:

"This would be based on the actual object being referenced. For instance, a First Aid Kit specifies "as an action" while Eva's two Iron Crosses simply state: Discard this token to add +1 or +2.
This would need to be done during her Activation, but unless the equipment piece specifies, it does not require an "Action."

The answer is on Miah's Tannhauser blog too: miah000.blogspot.com/2011/02/blutstrums-eva-kramer-intermediate.html