driving out foregn colonies and wild mind flare

By sigmarite, in Cosmic Encounter

hello, a couple of questions:

rulebook p. 12 :"if a player draws his or her own color from the destiny deck (or a special card designating him or her as the defence), the player may attempt to re-establish a colony in his or her home system..."

but each special states that a player "other than you" must be chosen even if you qualify. so can you or can you not drive out foreign colonies after drawing special that targets you?

wild mind flare: you can use it as main player only in the alliance phase (players don't draw cards in the alliance phase). is there a mistake? or it does it do nothing?

thanks for answers

Special destiny cards seem direct enough with the "other than you" descrpition, so I would say that you can only boot someone off you planets is if you draw your own colour.

As for Wind Mind, I think someone said before that it's a typo, and should be playable in any phase. However, you could play it in Alliance yet still look at all cards given out from then until the end of the encounter.

Keep in mind that the rules are written with expansions in mind. If you come across a rule that seems pointless, it might not be pointless in the future. The special destiny rule is just covering their backs in case they have a card that doesn't say "other than you" in an expansion. Always go by the text on the card first.

what about the 'wild' destiny card ?

it says any other player on the card, but the explanation in the rules on page 7 states :

'if the drawn card is a wild, the offense may have an encounter with any player of his or her choice.for this encounter, the chosen player is the defense. the encounter must take place in the chosen player's home system'

sounds like you could use a wild destiny card to target a planet in your own system... maybe... the word other is missing!?! is that a oversight in the rules? i assume the text printed on the card takes precedence but i am not sure.

edit: reading the text of the rules again, it seems pretty clear that you can not use the 'wild' destiny card to reclaim planets of your own system. you can not be the offense and defense at the same time... and if you pick someone else as the defense the encounter will take place in their system...

Yea, your note after "Edit:" is correct. If there were a completely empty planet on your system, that might be ambiguous rules territory since you could possibly interpret it as you yourself being the defense (though I wouldn't). Fortunately, the card itself is very clear in stating any "other" player, so it's not an issue.