Questions about Arya Core and Jon Snow Core

By Aequitas2, in 2. AGoT Rules Discussion

Ok, I'm new to the game and I had a couple of questions

Arya Stark Core allows her to kneel 1 influence to take the keyword stealth or renown off of a character and then gain that keyword. My question is if I kneel 1 influence to take renown off of 1 character and have Arya gain renown can I kneel another influence to take renown off of another character even though she now already had renown? I'm guessing the answer would be the same for stealth

Jon Snow Core allows him to gain 1 power if he or ghost participates in a winning challenge. If I have both of them in a winning challenge does Jon get 1 or 2 power?

Aequitas said:

can I kneel another influence to take renown off of another character even though she now already had renown?

Yes. (Obviously Arya's double renown does not mean double power for renown).

Aequitas said:

If I have both of them in a winning challenge does Jon get 1 or 2 power?

1 power.

Rogue30 said:

Aequitas said:
can I kneel another influence to take renown off of another character even though she now already had renown?

Yes. (Obviously Arya's double renown does not mean double power for renown).

help

Rogue30 said:

Aequitas said:
If I have both of them in a winning challenge does Jon get 1 or 2 power?

1 power.

The thing to recognize here is that you are not Responding to the character's participation in the challenge. You are Responding to winning the challenge (in which one or both participated). SInce you only won 1 challenge, you can only claim 1 power - even if it involves the 2 separate characters..

ktom said:

1 power.

The thing to recognize here is that you are not Responding to the character's participation in the challenge. You are Responding to winning the challenge (in which one or both participated). SInce you only won 1 challenge, you can only claim 1 power - even if it involves the 2 separate characters..

But it doesnt say "one or both" it says Jon or Ghost. To me it seems to mean "if either of them are in a winning challange"
this would be two seperate effect triggers. Ie "Jon Snow was in a victorious challange" and then "Ghost was in a victorious challange" I always read it like that. Its a little hard to explain and I see why both anwsers make sense logically, but to me it seems like the response is both for winning a challange And having the character participate.

Ie. after you win the challange I have met both the criteria of "after you win a challange in which Jon participated" and "after you win a challange in which Ghost participated"

Oops, doubble post sorry!

"Response: After you win a challenge ..."

This is the triggering condition, and you win the challenge only once. Consider the "in which Jon Snow or Ghost participated" a restriction for triggering the response.

You'd have to have two seperate "Response: ..." texts for them to be actionable seperately during a single challenge.

It's the same reason Starfall let's you place only one gold token on a single House Dayne character after winning a challenge, regardless of how many House Dayne characters participated. You can only trigger the response for one single character.

Can Arya steal a Stealth and a Renown from the same person by kneeling one influence?

Uncle Joker said:

Can Arya steal a Stealth and a Renown from the same person by kneeling one influence?

Yes.