Forest Spider effect

By Ferendra, in The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game

Hi folks,

in the example on page 19 the undefended Forest Spider has an attack strength of 2.

How so ?

Should it not be 3 due to the card effect :

Forced: After Forest Spider engages a player, it gets +1 ATK until the end of the round

Thanks in advance and greetings from Germany

Ferendra

The spider only gets the +1 on the same turn as it engages / was engaged. On future turns, it is only 2 attack.

And (I think) the Forest Spider only gets its +1 when it engages you, not when you engage it. Sort of an ambush kind of thing. (At least that's how I read the language on the card.)

TheProfessor said:

And (I think) the Forest Spider only gets its +1 when it engages you, not when you engage it. Sort of an ambush kind of thing. (At least that's how I read the language on the card.)

That's not correct. An enemy engages you and you engage an enemy no matter who decides to engage the other. It's in the rulebook.

Hmm... the rulebook, you say? Well if you want to play by the rules, then I see that you are right and I was wrong.

Hi there ,

thanks so far. But.... :-) it is the first turn that the spider engages the hero/player as the example is

representing an ongoing turn.

I (still) can not find a rule which impies that there is no attackstrength modifier (+1) for the undefended attack.

Greetings

Ferendra

Although the example follows on from the previous example (where Kris has just been engaged by Ungoliant's spawn and forest spider), i think each example is to be taken in its own right.

In the actual combat example, it doesn't state anywhere that the forest spider has just engaged Kris during the previous engagement check and therefore it shouldn't be assumed that that is the case.

The fact that the attack is undefended is irrelevant; the forest spiders +1 is only appleid in the combat round after the forest spider engages, and the example is simply of a later round of combat, which has assumed the forest spider didn't engage in the previous engagement check.

If the forest spider had engaged in the previous engagement check then the +1 would be applied regardless of whether the attack was defended against or not.

Hope this helps

Thanks Pumpkin,

"i think each example is to be taken in its own right."

This might be the solution to "my" problem.

Have a nice Day

Ferendra