Forest Snare
Type: Attachment Sphere: Lore
Cost: 3
Item. Trap.
Attach to an enemy engaged with a player.
Attached enemy cannot attack.
(Thanks a lot to cardgamedb.com)
------------------------------------------------------------------------
So when I played my lore deck I made great use of the forest snare. Awesome card. But what happens to Shadow Cards?
The rules say to deal the shadow cards "at the beginning of the combat phase" (p.18) to each enemy that is engaged. Then the rules go on to "Resolving Enemy Attacks".
1. Choose an enemy. The first player chooses which attack (among the enemies to which he is engaged) to resolve first.
2. Declare defender.
3. Resolve shadow effect.
4. Determine combat damage.
Ok, so my problem was that I don't know which (if any) of these combat steps an enemy that cannot attack goes through. Is just step 4 skipped? That would mean I still have to declare a defender...but since the enemy cannot attack that doesn't make much sense. But if we skip through all the combat steps, what happens to the shadow card dealt at the beginning of the phase?
The way I played was, that I dealt shadow cards and revealed them and played the shadow effect anyway. But I don't think that's right. Following the rules probably the enemy just keeps the shadow cards and once / if he gets rid of the trap they all trigger at the third combat step. Is that how we should play this? On top of things I drew Ungloianth's Spawn as a Shadow card for the Snared Enemy (while playing the Passage Through Mirkwood quest). That's basically why I decided to play the shadow effects and discard the shadow cards anyway.
Anybody had a similar problem already?
Gotta love them rangers!