Lightning bolt - Stun question

By Jedirie, in Talisman Rules Questions

Someone casts Lightning bolt on the Ogre Chieftain or the Minstrel after they draw a monster card...According to the way the character is worded they would have to chose to attack the monster if drawn... it doesnt automatically attack them, so there would be no loss of life?

If you get hit by a lightning bolt and you haven“t got a counterspell etc. your turn immediately ends as you may do nothing for that turn. That goes for all characters, but you have to cast the lightning bolt before or after the combat takes place. So if the orgre draws a monster and gets hit by a lightning bolt, before the battle takes place, his turn ends, no matter if choose to attack it or not.

Regards

What if a lightning bolt is cast at the start of a players turn... specifically a character who draws spells at the start of their turn... would they still draw spells?

Jedirie said:

What if a lightning bolt is cast at the start of a players turn... specifically a character who draws spells at the start of their turn... would they still draw spells?

Interesting question. The thing that makes me think is not the timing "at start of your turn" but the fact that drawing a Spell is not a must, it is an option (you may draw a Spell if you don't have any Spells). Can this "choice" be inhibited by Lightning Bolt?

I don't think there's a way to prevent those Characters from drawing a Spell. If struck by Lightning Bolt they can draw the Spell, but not cast it in their Turn because it ends immediately. I come to this conclusion only because it is the one that causes less arguing about Spell timing.

If you cast Lightning Bolt on a player at the start of his turn, he cannot gain any Spells that turn if his ability or a card permits him to do so. The character is stunned and may do nothing for the duration of that turn.

Ell.

My problem with the person who got stunned not being able to draw their spells:

The characters turn has started, because you have stunned him during his turn, therefor he gets the spells that he was entitled to at the START of his turn. Because if you stunned the person before the start of their turn, they would still get their turn becuase it ends after THAT turn that it was cast.

Another reason I could not see the character NOT getting his spells:

Let's say that he shouldn't get his spells if he is stunned because he didn't draw them before he got stunned. This suggests that the player that is entitled to spells at the start of his turn should hover his hand over the spell deck every single turn and draw the spells as fast as he possibly can. I don't think talisman is supposed to be at all like slap jack.

Please tell me they don't play this way in tournaments?

BenBenitrio said:

Please tell me they don't play this way in tournaments?

Yes this is the way it will be played in the upcoming tournament.

When a player's turn has ended, he must declare out loud that it is over. Play then passes to the next player. If a player wishes to cast a Spell at the start of a character's turn (at start of turn Spell, any time Spell, as required Spell), he must declare out loud the word "Spellcasting" and then the name of the Spell and it's effect. In the case of the Lightning Bolt Spell, the player's turn immediately ends before he can do anything that turn. This is the correct way to handle Spells being cast at the start of a player's turn (the "Spellcasting" out loud part is an optional rule which helps the process).

Ell.

Another question on the Lightning bolt spell:

On player A's turn player A engages in battle with The Lord of Darkness.

Player B casts Lightning bolt on player A.

...What now? Same question can be asked when player A engages in battle with an enemy or player.
Tonight was the second time this happened to us and we play it as a standoff but that feel wrong.

Please publish answer in this thread to keep the discussion together:
http://livingcardgame.org/edge_foros_discusion.asp?efid=129&efcid=1&efidt=362426

Nioreh said:

Another question on the Lightning bolt spell:

On player A's turn player A engages in battle with The Lord of Darkness.

Player B casts Lightning bolt on player A.

...What now? Same question can be asked when player A engages in battle with an enemy or player.
Tonight was the second time this happened to us and we play it as a standoff but that feel wrong.

Please publish answer in this thread to keep the discussion together:
http://livingcardgame.org/edge_foros_discusion.asp?efid=129&efcid=1&efidt=362426

Player A is stunned and can't do nothing apart from negating LB with Counterspell. If he's not able to, his Turn ends immediately.

It's always the same answer, no matter which actions have been initiated of done during the Turn.

As for keeping discussions together... it's a hopeless task here. You should have posted in the other thread if you felt that discussion should continue there. Not that it matters very much; an updated FAQ would help but it has been missing for some years now. Current FAQ was published after the Dungeon expansion, in 2009.

And then what, is he still standing on the LoD-space or moved away? If not, next turn does he move as usual from the LoD-space? It feels wrong that someone should be able to just stand on the LoD-space..

Nioreh said:

And then what, is he still standing on the LoD-space or moved away? If not, next turn does he move as usual from the LoD-space? It feels wrong that someone should be able to just stand on the LoD-space..

Normally nobody stands on the Treasure Chamber space, but if some rule-breaking effect allows it, then it happens.

In this case the Character moves as usual next turn and has the choice whether to land on the Treasure Chamber, since he can move clockwise (= following arrows), or to move into another Dungeon space according to die roll.

I posted the same question today regarding lord of the pit before I saw it here. We've been playing it wrong according to all the answers I've seen. Does anyone agree that the wording on lightning bolt seems to imply that your turn doent end? Why does it give instructions for the remainder of your turn if your turn immediately ends. I guess with so many cards this will always be an issue. I'm cool with it though. LB has been an unfair card in some of my groups opinions and has been key to victory many timeframe the way we have been playing it. I love talisman more than any other game but GOD I hate rules errata

I posted the same question today regarding lord of the pit before I saw it here. We've been playing it wrong according to all the answers I've seen. Does anyone agree that the wording on lightning bolt seems to imply that your turn doent end? Why does it give instructions for the remainder of your turn if your turn immediately ends. I guess with so many cards this will always be an issue. I'm cool with it though. LB has been an unfair card in some of my groups opinions and has been key to victory many timeframe the way we have been playing it. I love talisman more than any other game but GOD I hate rules errata

The wording of Lightning Bolt is written that way because you can cast it on another character during your own turn, to stop him from using certain effects in a crucial moment (e.g. casting Spells when you're moving into the Valley of Fire).

Lightining Bolt has exactly the same wording of Immobility Spell (compare them). The only difference is the timing condition: Lightning Bolt can be cast at any time, while Immobility needs to be cast at the start of a character's turn. Of course the first condition allows for more freedom, therefore it generates more issues.

Immobility needs a FAQ entry since a LOOOONG time, because the wording is contradictory with an example stated in the Rulebook. Let's hope that after 2 years a new FAQ will be released and that Lightning Bolt will be covered as well.