RTL: Reinforce Ability

By Falculus, in Descent: Journeys in the Dark

RTL (web) rulebook page 14: "Reinforcements are purchased and placed at the end of the overlord’s turn, and may not be activated that turn. ... On the overlord’s next turn, he may move the reinforcements onto the map as though they were one space away from the exit spaces they were placed next to. Large monsters may not move onto the board unless they can move fully onto the board, and monsters may not end their movement on top of other figures when moving onto the board."

I could easily be reading too much into this, but the way this paragraph in the rules was written is bothering me for some reason. So...

Questions:

How is this "reinforcement movement" different, if at all, from "normal movement"?

At what point on the OL's turn do(es) the monster(s) move onto the board?

Does the OL spend a monster's movement point to enter the map? (I am assuming yes because of the above line "may move the reinforcements onto the map as though they were one space away from the exit spaces".)

Must the monster end its movement immediately after moving onto the board? (I think I am just bothered by the phrase "may not end their movement on top of other figures when moving onto the board." I mean, monster cannot end their movement on top of other figures at any point of the game, right?)

The monsters move in the turn after they were placed, when the OL decides to activate them. Yes, he has to spend 1 MP to bring them onto the board and then continue moving normally (they do not have stop and wait to be killed) and yes, they never may end their movement on top of other figures (that sentence really isn´t necessary).

So monsters coming onto the board can just move over other monster figures that are "blocking the entrance" as long they (the incoming monsters) have a legal space (or spaces, for large monsters) to end their movement.

For some reason that just was not clear to me from the rules.

Thanks for the answer, Parathion.

One more question about Reinforce. Is there a limit to the number of monsters that can "queue up" by the exit space to come in on the next turn. The rules just state the OL puts these monsters "next to" the board, and as I do not think that "next to" is a game mechanism phrase, we did not think that such a limit existed. Is that correct?

There is no limit in the rules - you may place as many monsters as you want to (and pay threat for) at a single exit.

If you block the exit they can't come in. I don't see where you understood that. You just have to spend MP so that the whole creature (in terms of large are in) if it is something blocking it from doing so it can't enter. There is nowhere a mention of ignoring obstacles and figures when entering from the outside.

What are you referring to?

Drglord said:

If you block the exit they can't come in. I don't see where you understood that. You just have to spend MP so that the whole creature (in terms of large are in) if it is something blocking it from doing so it can't enter. There is nowhere a mention of ignoring obstacles and figures when entering from the outside.

When Parathion said you can place as many monsters as you want by a single exit, he meant OUTSIDE the board. You can put as many reinforcements as you want by a single exit and each one will be "one space away" when it first tries to step onto the board. You are correct that they can't ignore other figures or obstalces once they have entered the board, but that's not what he was referring to.

Falculus said:

So monsters coming onto the board can just move over other monster figures that are "blocking the entrance" as long they (the incoming monsters) have a legal space (or spaces, for large monsters) to end their movement.

For some reason that just was not clear to me from the rules.

Thanks for the answer, Parathion.

That sentence makes no sense. You can put as many as 4 small figures next to a 2 square exit unless i am missing something. That is the sentence i am referring to. I think i read somewhere an answer of an official in a question about reinforcements. If i understand correctly what is being implied is that there is no LIMIT to how many creatures will be put on one exit. That's not the way we have been playing it but i have been wrong in the past and it never really bothered anyone. So what you guys saying there is no number limit. That's cool i guess.

Drglord said:

That sentence makes no sense. You can put as many as 4 small figures next to a 2 square exit unless i am missing something.

That's true of a 2-space wide door in a dungeon (assuming there's a room on at least one side of the door.) For an exit (ie: a dead end with a dirt path leading off the map) on an outdoor encounter in the AC game, there are no "spaces" off the map. Any and all monsters "placed next to" an exit are treated as adjacent to that exit when they try to move onto the map, but there are no explicit spaces anywhere that isn't a tile. They're just sort of floating in an undefined holding state until they move onto the board. As such, there's no limit on how many can be beside a single exit at once.

(Note that monsters off the map are not really "adjacent" to the exit. They need to spend one MP to step onto the first space of the map, but the only reason they can do that is because the reinforcement rules specifically say so. There is no geography or game mechanics outside the board.)

Drglord said:

That is the sentence i am referring to. I think i read somewhere an answer of an official in a question about reinforcements.

I don't recall any such official statement, but I'll freely admit I haven't necessarily seen all official statements FFG has ever made. If you could provide a source on this, it would be much appreciated, but honestly I think you're getting this issue confused with something else.