Dark Charm vs Taunt question

By Igle-Oviedo, in Descent: Journeys in the Dark

Dark Charm. Card Type : Trap Threat Cost : 8 Treachery Cost : - / 1 (purple) Discard Value : 2
Effect : Play at the start of your turn and choose one hero. The chosen hero player must roll one power die. If the result is blank, nothing happens. If the result is not a blank, the hero must make one attack that you declare. This attack may target any hero, including the attacking hero, but is subject to the normal attack rules, including range and line of sight.

Taunt. Skill Type: Fighting Effect: When an enemy figure within 5 spaces of you declares an attack, but before dice are rolled, you may force the figure to target you with that attack if it is able to do so.

After our last sesion this come again. OL plays Dark Charm at Player A (mage) succes, and make him attach himself, Player B with the Taunt skill (at Player A side) wants to be the target.

After the Bodyguard question, we had clear that Hero A its now no friendly so enemy figure now, i dont see any reason to deny it. I an true or wrong ?

Igle-Oviedo said:

Dark Charm. Card Type : Trap Threat Cost : 8 Treachery Cost : - / 1 (purple) Discard Value : 2
Effect : Play at the start of your turn and choose one hero. The chosen hero player must roll one power die. If the result is blank, nothing happens. If the result is not a blank, the hero must make one attack that you declare. This attack may target any hero, including the attacking hero, but is subject to the normal attack rules, including range and line of sight.

Taunt. Skill Type: Fighting Effect: When an enemy figure within 5 spaces of you declares an attack, but before dice are rolled, you may force the figure to target you with that attack if it is able to do so.

After our last sesion this come again. OL plays Dark Charm at Player A (mage) succes, and make him attach himself, Player B with the Taunt skill (at Player A side) wants to be the target.

After the Bodyguard question, we had clear that Hero A its now no friendly so enemy figure now, i dont see any reason to deny it. I an true or wrong ?

You are correct, at least as far as I can tell. Taunting a Dark Charm attack looks perfectly legal to me.

I guess what matters here is "is the hero figure ever an enemy figure?". I don't think he is. I think he is still a hero figure, making an attack declared by the Overlord. It's going to come down to semantics, and how you define enemy figure.

Is an enemy figure any figure that is making an unfriendly attack? Is a hero attacking another hero to wake them from a sleep an "enemy figure" temporarily?

I think enemy figures are monsters and lieutenants.

Hero figures are the heroes.

Things are the figures they are, and that never changes.

Note the wording on taunt is not triggered by just an attack being made, but specifically an enemy figure making an attack. If ANY figure (even a hero figure) attacking is an enemy figure, then why even include that? The card would read just as well w/o the confusing extra part about the enemy figure. Thus since it states specifically enemy figures, it should apply only to enemy figures and not to heroes.

Strict RAW interpretation at least. I think that's how I'd play it, that a taunt does not work on a hero figure making an attack since it's still a hero figure. Unless some other precedent exists that Hero figures are considered enemy figures when attacking a hero?

If you are going to allow taunt to be used on a dark chard then there alot of other questions raised. Like can you play protect thyself? Fend? Blocked?

In our game all these actions are forbid since it states monsters attacks and even though someone could argue the charmed is now batting for the other team well i guess it's up to individual gaming group home rules. There are MILLION of questions about rules never answered if you take a look in the faq section and FFG doesn't give a rats ass so you should just home rule it they way it fits you best.

The only answer was that you DON'T get command from your TEAM but you GET command from a master beastman or another monster with command.

A Dark Charmed hero definitely does not count as a monster, but there are several precedents for treating it as being on Team Monster for the attack: for example, the FAQ says that a Dark Charmed hero benefits from Command abilities on nearby monsters, but not on nearby heroes, that a Dark Charmed Sweep attack hits heroes. The FAQ also allows the overlord to play an Aim in combination with Dark Charm.

Taunt (as quoted above) looks like it affects "enemy figures", not "monsters", so this looks legal to me (provided you meet the other requirements of Taunt).

poobaloo said:

I guess what matters here is "is the hero figure ever an enemy figure?". I don't think he is. I think he is still a hero figure, making an attack declared by the Overlord. It's going to come down to semantics, and how you define enemy figure.

Figures have two different, independent qualities that are relevant to this discussion. Firstly, a figure is either a hero figure or a monster figure. Secondly, a figure is either "friendly" or "enemy."

You are correct when you say that a hero figure being affected by Dark Charm is still a hero figure. That never changes. Likewise a monster figure is always a monster, even if it's being controlled by a hero with Necromancy. However, whether a figure is friendly or enemy is much more mutable. A monster being controlled by Necromancy is friendly to the heroes, and gains all the benefits provided to "friendly figures" by the heroes. But it still cannot open doors to unrevealed areas and it does not generate Line of Sight to prevent spawning, because in addition to being friendly it is also a monster, and monsters can't do those things.

A hero affected by Dark Charm is an enemy to the other heroes for the duration of that attack, and he is friendly to the OL's figures, as Antistone illustrated. If the Taunt skill had said "force a monster to attack you instead of another hero" then it could not be used on a DC attack, because the hero is not a monster. It doesn't say that, though, it says "enemy."

Edit: If a hero attacks another hero voluntarily (to wake him up or for any other purpose he might come up with) it does not make the attacking hero an enemy, even temporarily, because the hero is still being controlled by a player on the Heroes team. Friendly fire is not illegal, this has been established a number of times in a number of ways.

For example, one hero attacking another to trigger Divine Retribution won't work because that skill requires the killing attack to come from an enemy. If the OL used Dark Charm to make that attack happen, however, it WOULD trigger the skill, because for the duration of that attack, the attacking hero is an enemy figure. (I don't believe the DC'd hero would get zapped by DR, however, because it says it destroys all "unnamed" enemy figures and all heroes have names.)