Pool of Life

By Chunga, in Talisman Rules Questions

I had a player argue this last night. He had lost 1 life due to combat when he pulled Pool of Life. His argument is that since it states Gain 1 life, he now gets a new maximum life of 5. I told him that he simply gets to heal the life he had lost. He states Gaining and Healing are separate things.

Is he right and I've been playing wrong for 20 years?

Your friend has 1 out of 4 lives. If he gains or heals a life, he has now 2 out of 4 lives.

Now let's say your friend is healthy and he has 4 out of 4 lives. If he heals a life, nothing happens (because he is healthy). If he gains a life however, he has 5 out of 4 lives. So he has 1 extra life over his maximum 4. His life value (maximum life) does not change and is still 4.

I think this is described in a rulebook, did you take a look?

Your friend is correct.

Wherever it states that you "Replenish" or heal, you may only restore up to your starting health (or relevant stat), but if it states "gain" as a keyword, you may increase your stat beyond the starting number.

here's to the next 20 years being played correctly :P

you can gain a life if you are down, but can't heal a life when at full life. if he is claiming that if he has one life, pulls the pool, and then can take all 4 because it says "gain",tn he has read the rules wrong. you have been playing it right

" gain a Life " = add a Life cone to your current reserve

" heal a Life " = add a Life cone to your current reserve, but not to exceed the Life value printed on the Character Card.

If you gain a Life it does not mean that from there on your maximum Life value is increased for the rest of the game.

It means only what's explained above, as most people on this thread have said.