Pretty weird but we have been playing the ripper as you get to reroll any of the dice you roll in your attack. I was wondering if that is a mistake and by attack dice they mean only the color dices you roll and not the power dice. So what do attack dice mean?
Attack Dice?
Well, you only get to reroll ONE die, so make sure you are doing that correctly (wasn't clear from your post).
As to what kind of dice, I'm thinking it can be any of the dice from the attack, but I'm not totally sure.
Yes, you can reroll any of them. The "attack dice" includes all dice used on the attack. Only when it specifies "power dice" or a specific color does the color of the die matter.
James McMurray said:
Yes, you can reroll any of them. The "attack dice" includes all dice used on the attack. Only when it specifies "power dice" or a specific color does the color of the die matter.
+1 for this. Any single on of them, even power dice you added after the initial roll using Fatigue. Just as long as no re-roll effects have been played on the attack yet.
On that note, remember that only one re-roll effect is allowed per attack. If you invoke the Ripper's ability, you can't also use Aim, nor can the OL use Dodge. That's its strongest power.
Steve-O said:
On that note, remember that only one re-roll effect is allowed per attack. If you invoke the Ripper's ability, you can't also use Aim, nor can the OL use Dodge. That's its strongest power.
That's not quite true; the OL can Dodge to mutually cancel with your reroll (see FAQ p.17).
And no way is canceling a Dodge its strongest power; rerolling an X to turn a miss into a hit comes up far more often and has a larger average effect each time it occurs.
Arguably, Dodge is actually better against the Ripper than against other weapons - with other weapons, the OL plays it when the initial roll is a hit for a 1/6 chance of a miss (and a reduction in damage); with the Ripper, the OL plays it when the initial roll is a miss to cancel out your 5/6 chance of turning it into a hit. That's a LOT more average hits stopped per card when used against the Ripper.
Yes its a better use of the card for the overlord but the hero would not have hit anyway if he wasn't using ripper.
The hero missed and still made the overloard play a card... thats pretty good.
Obviously having the reroll is better than simply NOT having the reroll. But if one hero is using the Ripper and another hero is using a weapon without a reroll, the overlord is probably wise to target his Dodge cards against the Ripper, not the other one.