What does 'X' mean?

By player981018, in CoC Rules Discussion

Hi,

New to this type of game... I'm trying to find out what the the value of 'X' is when it refers to the character cost or when it appears in the text...

Can't seem to find it in the rule book...

Any help would be great...

Thanks,

X is usually defined by the card itself. it's a variable cost with the variable supplied by the card's text in some manner.

There are some more details in the FAQ.

Due you have a specific card in mind? I could explain better in that context.

Thanks,

Sometimes it doesn't seem to be specified on certain cards, for example:

Blackmoor Estate:

Action: Exhaust and pay X to discard the top X cards of the player's deck.

Shotgun Blast:

Action: Choose and wound a character with skill X or lower.

Celano Fragments:

Action: Exhaust and pay X to choose a committed character with the cost X or lower. Remove that character from the story.

Thanks for your help.

"Pay X" means the X becomes the same as the number of resources you have in the domain you use to pay. Pay 5, the X becomes 5. Simple as that :)

yoshima said:

Thanks,

Sometimes it doesn't seem to be specified on certain cards, for example:

Blackmoor Estate:

Action: Exhaust and pay X to discard the top X cards of the player's deck.

Shotgun Blast:

Action: Choose and wound a character with skill X or lower.

Celano Fragments:

Action: Exhaust and pay X to choose a committed character with the cost X or lower. Remove that character from the story.

Thanks for your help.

yoshima said:

Thanks,

Sometimes it doesn't seem to be specified on certain cards, for example:

Blackmoor Estate:

Action: Exhaust and pay X to discard the top X cards of the player's deck.

Shotgun Blast:

Action: Choose and wound a character with skill X or lower.

Celano Fragments:

Action: Exhaust and pay X to choose a committed character with the cost X or lower. Remove that character from the story.

Thanks for your help.

Ok, so in most of these examples, X is defined by the target you're applying it to. For example, Blackmoor Estate. If you drain a domain with six resources attached to it, you can use it to pay for Blackmoor's effect and discard 6 cards from the player's deck.

In the case of the Shotgun Blast, the X in the cost means it's variable, and tied to the skill of the character you want to kill. So, if you wanted to shoot Paul Lemond, who has skill 1, you'd have to drain a domain with at least 1 resource on it. If you wanted to wound Marshal Green (3 skill), however, you'd need to drain a domain w/ at least 3 resources on it.

Pretty much the same thing w/ Celano Fragments.

Basically the way it works is you look at the target you want to apply it to. So Celano, "pay X to ... character with the cost X or lower". So you find a character, look at it's cost, and that fills in for X in both places.

Hope it helps

That helps a lot...

Thanks for the replies.