Precipice Space

By The_Warlock, in Talisman Rules Questions

Q: If cards are dropped on a Precipice space in the Highlands as a result of a Character Encounter, are they discarded at the end of the Turn?

I claimed that the answer is no, since any effects on the space do apply only if space is encountered. In my last game Priest Toadified Gypsy and got Toadified as well because of Hydra Spell. A lot of stuff was left on the Precipice space. Gypsy was killed by two deadly blows by the Toad-Priest, then the Priest was able to get back on the space and take everything. Someone argued that everything should have been discarded, but I said that cards were dropped in a Character encounter. I hope I was correct.

Of course I lost that game even if my Priest was very close to victory, but he could not compete with the Sprite replacement of Gypsy. It was amazing enough that the Priest did pretty well in a game with much more solid Characters.

The_Warlock said:

Q: If cards are dropped on a Precipice space in the Highlands as a result of a Character Encounter, are they discarded at the end of the Turn?

A: No. The instructions on the space are only followed if you encounter the space, not a character in the space.
In your example, the cards are left on the space until another character actually encounters the space; a new highland card is drawn and at the end of the turn all of the cards are discarded!

Ell.

Your answer relieves me. My friends assumed that I could not take all those cards.

But thanks to this occurrence, we learned how to properly deal with Precipice Spaces. Even if there are cards on those spaces (a rare case, but possible), a character encountering the Precipice still has to draw one card. If that card doesn't prevent him from taking what's on the space, he can take everything. Otherwise everything is lost.

talismanamsilat said:

The_Warlock said:

Q: If cards are dropped on a Precipice space in the Highlands as a result of a Character Encounter, are they discarded at the end of the Turn?

A: No. The instructions on the space are only followed if you encounter the space, not a character in the space.
In your example, the cards are left on the space until another character actually encounters the space; a new highland card is drawn and at the end of the turn all of the cards are discarded!

Ell.

Interesting situation, but with your argument I don't see the purpose of the Precipice space ever beeing able to discard any cards except for the one card you draw on it.

Because you say that the dropped cards would stay on the space until 1 highland card is drawn, But you won't draw a highland card on that space because there already are a bunch of cards on it.

I always tought that it was the whole purpose of those spaces that any cards that land there are discarded, for example using spells that move cards on the board and you place it on that space it's discarded, Also if you get your items blown away to that space they are discarded. Am I totally wrong here?

Persiatic said:

talismanamsilat said:

The_Warlock said:

Q: If cards are dropped on a Precipice space in the Highlands as a result of a Character Encounter, are they discarded at the end of the Turn?

A: No. The instructions on the space are only followed if you encounter the space, not a character in the space.
In your example, the cards are left on the space until another character actually encounters the space; a new highland card is drawn and at the end of the turn all of the cards are discarded!

Ell.

Interesting situation, but with your argument I don't see the purpose of the Precipice space ever beeing able to discard any cards except for the one card you draw on it.

Because you say that the dropped cards would stay on the space until 1 highland card is drawn, But you won't draw a highland card on that space because there already are a bunch of cards on it.

I always tought that it was the whole purpose of those spaces that any cards that land there are discarded, for example using spells that move cards on the board and you place it on that space it's discarded, Also if you get your items blown away to that space they are discarded. Am I totally wrong here?

As I said in my previous post, the situation made us read carefully what's written on the Precipice space. You always draw 1 card there, even if there are already cards on it!

The cards on the Precipice Space are discarded only if space is encountered, at the end of that turn. It's the same rule that makes Evil Characters lose life on Chapel only if they encounter the space (if they encounter a Character instead, no loss).

I think many people are playing the Precipice space wrong, it's not obvious as it looks at first sight.

Great tnx Warlock I missed the "You always draw 1 card there, even if there are already cards on it! " part then it makes more sense.