Siege and Lts

By Shatteredragon, in Descent: Journeys in the Dark

Just making sure I understand this (I'll use Sir Alric & Lady Eliza Farrow as example).

I move Sir Alric onto a city and next turn place a siege token, this would continue till I had eneogh siege tokens to match the defense rating, then at the start of the turn I have eneogh siege tokens to match the city's defense rating I roll for surge.

If I move Lady ElizaFarrow onto the same city, the only advantage she applies is that if the Heroes attack Sir Alric, he'll get her "Brilliant Commander" card addition to his own (visa versa if Lady Eliza Farrow is attacked, apply Sir Alric's "Doom" card, obviously based on which Lt the Heroes attack, I'm guessing that the OL can't choose the order Lts are faced if there are multiple on the same place). As well if either was attacked and defeated (killed/flees) the bonus of still having a Lt on that city. There are no increases in the amount of siege tokens added based on the amount of Lts sent to Siege a city?

As well if Lord Merick Farrow is on the same place, the addition of a third Lt to defeat and 15 starting threat in addition to Lady Eliza Farrows "Brilliant Commander" and Sir Alrics "Doom" (plus the reinforce abilities of the Lt being attacked only)?

I'm not missing any bonuses or facts here am I? I only ask since my first siege will be coming up shortly and will involve two Lts to insure the city goes down. I'd rather not screw it up with not understanding how a siege works.

Also, I'm already aware that any Lts one move away from a dungeon or Lt encounter can "enhance" it with their special "Power" card or ability. Does this also apply to regular encounters between? Do they also get any enhancements from a nearby Lt (s)?

If I move Lady ElizaFarrow onto the same city, the only advantage she applies is that if the Heroes attack Sir Alric, he'll get her "Brilliant Commander" card addition to his own (visa versa if Lady Eliza Farrow is attacked, apply Sir Alric's "Doom" card, obviously based on which Lt the Heroes attack, I'm guessing that the OL can't choose the order Lts are faced if there are multiple on the same place). As well if either was attacked and defeated (killed/flees) the bonus of still having a Lt on that city. There are no increases in the amount of siege tokens added based on the amount of Lts sent to Siege a city?

Alric would not get Brillliant Commander if attacked, nor would Eliza get DOOM!. Lieutenants add their power cards to dungeons and battles that involve them only, not to other lieutenant battles.

However, you do get to add multiple siege tokens. Every lieutenant who takes a besiege order adds a token, so the turn after Eliza moves there she can start adding tokens of her own.

Also, I'm already aware that any Lts one move away from a dungeon or Lt encounter can "enhance" it with their special "Power" card or ability. Does this also apply to regular encounters between? Do they also get any enhancements from a nearby Lt (s)?

No, dungeons only.

Thanks, lol amazing how a simple addition of (multiple lieutenants sieging a city gain a siege token per Lieutenant) to the original Rules would have prevented this question from even popping up.

Scanning thru the various notes on Lts I can clearly see now they can only be used to advance dungeons, and all multiple Lts a move away or on that dungeon add their "Power" cards or "special abilities" to that dungeon. Something I could have answered myself. Though I wasn't aware of the added siege tokens per Lt besieging a city so at least that's something.

Shatteredragon said:

Thanks, lol amazing how a simple addition of (multiple lieutenants sieging a city gain a siege token per Lieutenant) to the original Rules would have prevented this question from even popping up.

No rudeness intended, but be fair - simply following the turn sequence rules carefully would have answered the question.
RtL pg10
1. Time passes...
2. Resolve Seiges...
(remove tokens if no Lt present, then roll one dice to try and raze)
3. OL actions... Each Lt can take one action, either Move or Beseige. If beseiging then the Lt places a raze token unless there are already maximum amount of raze tokens necessary.

Just reading it and following it tells you everything you need to know.

Corbon said:

Shatteredragon said:

Thanks, lol amazing how a simple addition of (multiple lieutenants sieging a city gain a siege token per Lieutenant) to the original Rules would have prevented this question from even popping up.

No rudeness intended, but be fair - simply following the turn sequence rules carefully would have answered the question.
RtL pg10
1. Time passes...
2. Resolve Seiges...
(remove tokens if no Lt present, then roll one dice to try and raze)
3. OL actions... Each Lt can take one action, either Move or Beseige. If beseiging then the Lt places a raze token unless there are already maximum amount of raze tokens necessary.

Just reading it and following it tells you everything you need to know.

Oh normally I'd agree with you, but since so much has had to be clarified or altered in the FaQ I wouldn't assume the wording I'm reading is %100 percent correct to my assumption of what I think it to mean in any of the Rulebooks, at least not till I confirm anything I doubt here on the forums. I've seen many alterations to the way the game plays, mostly on individual things, but the size of the FaQ alone tells me I need to make sure of anything before I implement it if I have "any" doubts or questions. Even if I had assumed that this was the way to play it, I'd still have to prove it to my other players, and they wouldn't accept the wording of the book on something that can be that devastating to them without it being confirmed, so before it comes up I'm confirming it.

There is nothing that says one way or the other whether multiple Lts increase the amount of siege tokens on a city per "week turn" either, nor hints at it, I would reading the instructions listed (after rereading them) have been under the assumption that more than one Lt can siege a city, but it doesn't say "add one siege token per Lt per turn", and in all cases refering to siege, there's alot of "a lieutenant" or "the lieutenant", nothing that mentions Lts working together or more than one Lt being involved in anything at a time except reinforcing dungeons. In the world of gaming, a little missing clarifications like this one leaves alot of room for interpretation (I must thank everyone who puts an effort into improving upon the FaQ as it clears up alot of these "loose ends"). The only part of any of that section (or any sections mentioning siege) that made me ask this at all was there was no clarification they could do it, but there was also no ruling that they couldn't. In this game, with it's complications, I'd rather know for sure the answer I guess than be second guessing myself thru every game I played. I have to ask questions like this because the other players WILL want to know that I'm not just guessing and am following the rules, especially rules we've never played before.

I don't take your comment as rude, no worries, I've been on the most helpful gaming forum of all time and the worst arguementative insulting hellhole of a gaming forum as well, this one is one of the better ones I've run across, the community answers questions and other than the occasional insult or hotheaded comment in frustration for what might seem "obvious" to those who have played every level of every expansion of this game at least once thru if not more, I can understand, everyone hates a newb.

Ah, reading it thru there is one spot that does confirm it, where it says "as long as it currently has fewer siege tokens than the city's Defense rating."

Since a city has to have a Lt besieging it to have siege tokens, then two Lts can siege according to the book. I can see what misreading a few words can do, Damnable rules, I've lost track of how many times I've read thru them and the FaQ and yet still miss little confirmations like this...

Shatteredragon said:

Ah, reading it thru there is one spot that does confirm it, where it says "as long as it currently has fewer siege tokens than the city's Defense rating."

Since a city has to have a Lt besieging it to have siege tokens, then two Lts can siege according to the book. I can see what misreading a few words can do, Damnable rules, I've lost track of how many times I've read thru them and the FaQ and yet still miss little confirmations like this...

Actually, that is not the critical part. That is more like 'circumstantial' supporting evidence.

RtL pg10
3. Overlord Actions
When the overlord acts during the game week, he may do two different types of actions: issues order to his lieutenants , and purchase an upgrade. He may do these in any order , even purchasing an upgrade between issuing orders to different lieutenants.

- Each Lt does his order independently of other Lts, since a different action can be done by the OL between Lt orders.
Lieutenant Orders
The overlord may issue one order to each of his lieutenants per game week. Each order may be to either move or besiege a city .
- Each Lt gets an order. So 2 Lts = 2 orders, both done independently.
Besiege a City: If the lieutenant begins his turn in a city, he can besiege it. If he does, the overlord places a siege token on that city’s space, as long as it currently has fewer siege tokens than the city’s Defense rating. (If it currently has siege tokens equal to the city’s Defense rating, the overlord does not add additional siege tokens.)
- Each Lt, when doing his own independent order, follows the rule. Thus if you have 2 Lts, both with besiege orders, both starting on the city, they will both place a siege token (as long as siege tokens can be placed).

Noted, and used well last session, have successfully begun my first siege and about to add a second Lt to the same siege. Considering I had how sieges worked completely backwards, I'm glad I bothered to ask.