The Obscenity Walks Into a Bar...

By AUCodeMonkey, in CoC Rules Discussion

So the missus and I had an interesting situation arise today. I was playing my ST/SY deck against her SN/HS deck, and I had used my trusty Lodge Barkeep to exhaust Y'Golonac at the beginning of her turn with his ability that reads

Response: After a character is readied, exhaust Lodge Barkeep to exhaust that character.

I then told Lodge Barkeep to Get On Yer Feet! so that he was ready again. At the start of her Story phase, she uses YGo's ability which reads

Action: Pay 1 to choose and ready a character. That character must commit to the same story as Y'Golonac, if able.

She, of course, targeted Y'Golonac with his own ability. Since my Lodge Barkeep is readied, I exhaust him to exhaust Y'Golonac. And that's where we hit an impasse. In this situation:

  • Would I be able to use LB to exhaust Y'Go before he commits to a story?
    OR
  • Does Y'Golonac's ability get carried out in full when used, meaning that he is readied and then commits to story?

I'm under the impression that using Y'Golonac's ability on any character (himself included) just readies that character and then places constraints on where he/she may be committed when choosing, therefore the first option above is what happens. Any thoughts?

P.S. This actually did not affect the outcome of the game. I beat her 3-0, but unfortunately the next game she turned around and beat me 3-0.

AUCodeMonkey said:

Response: After a character is readied, exhaust Lodge Barkeep to exhaust that character.

I then told Lodge Barkeep to Get On Yer Feet! so that he was ready again. At the start of her Story phase, she uses YGo's ability which reads

Action: Pay 1 to choose and ready a character. That character must commit to the same story as Y'Golonac, if able.

She, of course, targeted Y'Golonac with his own ability. Since my Lodge Barkeep is readied, I exhaust him to exhaust Y'Golonac. And that's where we hit an impasse. In this situation:

  • Would I be able to use LB to exhaust Y'Go before he commits to a story?
    OR
  • Does Y'Golonac's ability get carried out in full when used, meaning that he is readied and then commits to story?

I'm under the impression that using Y'Golonac's ability on any character (himself included) just readies that character and then places constraints on where he/she may be committed when choosing, therefore the first option above is what happens. Any thoughts?

P.S. This actually did not affect the outcome of the game. I beat her 3-0, but unfortunately the next game she turned around and beat me 3-0.

You actually have a few issues here:

1) Yes LB can be used on Y'G. It's a Response, so when Y'G readies, you can then immediately use the response.

2) yes, his ability is carried out in full, but this doesn't mean what you supplied. In fact, this brings up an important issue w/ how Y'Gol works.

He works like this: At any point, you can use the ability to ready a character. The next part of his ability is *NOT* linked with the "then" phrasing. Meaning you can use it on a character that is already Ready. (That part is actually in the FAQ). The other bit though... If Y'G is not currently committed to a story when you use his ability, the second part of the action is just lost. It doesn't "store up" or add the constraint or anything like that. The proper way to use him, and make sure the characters go where you want is:

1) Story phase starts

2) Actions are allowed (don't use Y'g Here)

3) Active player commits all characters they want to stories (commit Y'G)

4) Actions are allowed (use Y'g's ability here).

5) Other player commits etc

6) Actions allowed

7) Resolution.

Also note, Y'Gs ability could be used multiple times. So if she had a 2nd domain free, she could ready Y'G again.

Thanks for reminding me that the problem becomes much easier when going back to the basics gui%C3%B1o.gif I just hate that I play so infrequently now that I forget to return to them...

* There is actually 0% sarcasm there. I really am appreciative that you reminded of the basic turn/sequence structure and how/when actions take place.

Heheh I didn't even read any sarcasm in it. :)

I generally like to spell things out most of the time like that just in case it helps later people who search for similar issues. Glad it helped.

/cheers

K